Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

Daily Archives: September 28, 2011

Adventures On The Road To Riches.

Investing

present participle of in·vest (Verb)
  1. Expend money with the expectation of achieving a profit or material result by putting it into financial schemes, shares, or property, or by using it to develop a commercial venture.
  2. Buy (something) whose usefulness will repay the cost.

Image courtesy of zzzack @ Flickr.com

In the high-stakes world of finance, I’m a player. And by player, I mean I’m the guy who doesn’t know any of the rules and is always picked last. I know I should be paying attention to interest rates, the value of international currency and I should probably know the difference between Cumulative Preference and Redeemable shares but I’m just not that savvy – or, in particular case of the latter, interested. Of course, I prefer to focus on the positives.

Read more of this post