Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

I’m A Fashion Victim!

Image courtesy of Andrés Moreira @ Flickr

You’re probably aware of the collapse of the Colorado clothing brand. Ordinarily, this kind of news doesn’t bother me and I must admit that even this situation doesn’t rattle me much. Having said that though, I was always a fan of Colorado. The brand portrayed an outdoors, adventurous style that appealed to me and I found their clothes to be comfortable and reasonably priced. Obviously now I find myself in a tight spot as far as fashion goes – as someone having a “guy sense” when it comes to style, I’m feeling like a bit of a fish out of water.

Having done manual arts instead of home economics at high school, I never learned how to make my own clothes. Having never really followed trends, I also paid the bare minimum of attention to fashion stereotypes. One may argue that in retrospect, both these decisions were faulty to a degree but I’m going to ignore anyone who says so. So if you’re thinking about it; you’re only wasting everyone’s time if you go there because no-one’s listening to you and you will look like a crazy person.

A quick rundown of most of the stereotypes I’m aware of has led me to the following conclusions:

Emo – I could have maybe pulled this off in high school. I’ve matured significantly over the years though and am no longer melodramatic and whiny. Also, I can’t stand having my hair hanging over my face.

Goth – While I can respect this fashion, it’s not really my thing. I’d be considered far too mainstream. I just don’t get along well enough with black to be wearing a lot of it.

Hipster – I must admit, I’m not intellectual enough to be hanging out with this crowd. I know precious little about art and I’m not into tight-fitting jeans.

Military – Just. No.

Sporty – This one may work, but I can’t really say that I’m one to typify the assumptions associated with wearing athletic brands. I don’t cry if the local team wins or loses the final and I’d much rather talk about science fiction than cricket.

Vintage – I’ve only ever shopped at charity stores on a few occasions and have never found enough that would keep me going back. I’m also not really up for paying hundreds of dollars for clothes that are supposed to look like they’ve been handed down for four generations…

With little enough knowledge on my own, I turned to Wolf Brother for assistance. When it comes to fashion, Wolf Brother is a maestro. He’s long endured my fashion sense in the same way a salmon swims upstream each year – an awful lot of thrashing against the current for only a slim possibility of achieving a successful outcome. His suggestion to me was Steampunk. Interesting. Maybe I shouldn’t have asked him while we were at the pub.

While I work through my considerations, I’ve at least got one thing to focus on. I’ve never owned a leather jacket and I think it’s time for me to rectify that. Now to find one that suits me.

Do you have a fashion style? Can I borrow some of your taste?

8 responses to “I’m A Fashion Victim!

  1. bearyweather September 14, 2011 at 12:14 am

    I am not really into fashion, so all I have for you are companies similar to Colorado Clothing.
    Check out Eddie Bauer or L.L. Bean.
    Colorado Clothing still has a nice website up and running …. are you sure they are gone?

    • Christian Emmett September 14, 2011 at 9:25 am

      You’re right Beary, they do have a website up and running although all the stores in Brisbane have been closed down and I can buy only a few things online.

      I’ll check out those labels you’ve suggested, thanks for stopping by!

  2. Leanne Shirtliffe September 10, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    Steampunk? Cool. I only know it as a genre. Twice a year I swear I’m going to dress more fashionably. Then life and practicality and the VISA steps in. But a good pair of leather boots goes along way…or so I tell myself.

    Happy weekend!

    • Christian Emmett September 10, 2011 at 6:13 pm

      I thought it was just a genre as well, but it appears that there’s a whole fashion subculture attached. I find it quite intriguing actually!

      I’m sure you’re quite fashionable Leanne and you’re absolutely right about the boots. 😉

      Happy weekend to you too!

  3. therosebandit September 9, 2011 at 12:03 am

    Adventurer, do you know why so many go into the fashion industry? Because they want to either be famous, make a name for themselves or they legitimately see it as a work of art. The first two options will get you no where if you just want to remain there but, if you can see it like the third….now you’re on to something!

    If you look at any of the top named designers, they create combinations of texture, color, sleekness, form, and tying together symmetrical and abstract design. It can be tastefully compared with the typical art that is seen in museums, except to say that these designer clothes are wearable/usable art. They are made better with stitching and sometimes cannot be altered for fear of ruining a garment. I do not consider myself by any means a fashionista but, I gained a new appreciation for the high end lines when I visited NY this August. I have never seen anything quite like it when walking into those designer stores. Very interesting culture that I like observing from afar. 😉 BUT, given NY has all those fancy schmancy shops and stores, the general population still wears whatever they want without a blink of the eye!

    I like it much better just making my own statement. Lesson? Wear what you like and feel most comfortable in until you try to impress someone. Then it is OK to ask and make yourself look as though your inner fashionista is shinning! LOVE this post!!!

    Carry on…..

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.