Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

It’s Been a Big Year – Change is Still the Only Constant

This may be the last blog I post here – the creativity and desire to express myself that I’ve enjoyed since the beginning of this writing adventure have waned. I can’t pinpoint the reason; it may be a loss of belief in myself,  the medication, or it may just be time for change. Whatever it is, I just didn’t want my previous post to be the last. In case I don’t come back here for a long time, I want to keep the vibe positive.

Change

So what have I been doing all year? I clearly haven’t been blogging. Let me fill you in…

In 2014 I vowed to change. My driver was the desire to be a better person, physically and mentally. The mental battle has been difficult, but my determination to overcome depression is as strong as ever. I decided to couple the medication option with a physical assault on my sense of self and I have to say, I have had some successes. In the past 7 months I have done a few things I’ve never done before, including:

  • Participating in and winning a 9 week challenge at my local gym;

GO Health Club 9 week Challenge 2014

  • Completing a corporate triathlon with my employer;
  • Enjoying some amateur theater (a pretty decent version of “The Breakfast Club” I might add) with a good friend – making a couple of new friends along the way; and
  • Completing the 2014 Tough Mudder obstacle course!

Tough Mudder 2014

All these new experiences taught me a lot. Getting out of my comfort zone opened my eyes not only to myself, but to the others who I was lucky enough to share these adventures with. I have always thought of myself as an open-minded and relatively non-judgmental person, although I had a few of my mental stereotypes shattered and for that I am extremely grateful.

Change is difficult. Hell, just living is difficult at times. Yet there are people who live in a constant state of change. I had no idea of the extent of this until I actively pursued change. I have slipped, stumbled and fallen flat on my face – physically and emotionally. I’ve only been doing this for 7 months. I’ve been helped along by people whose lives are change.

I know I don’t have the personality to be able to do this for the rest of my life. I NEED order. Routine. Schedules. But these can all incorporate change. Because life should never get stagnant, at least in my opinion. I just want to say a quick and heartfelt thank you to the people who have always been there to help me when I’ve stumbled. People who are with me physically, as well as those of you who have continued to support me from afar because that’s the way our friendship works. I’m glad to have each and every one of you on my side.

Now, if you will excuse me, my next challenge starts in October. I have to start my preparation. I won’t shut this blog down because I hope to return and start writing again. In the meantime, thank you all for reading and commenting.

Look after yourselves.

8 responses to “It’s Been a Big Year – Change is Still the Only Constant

  1. LJC2013 October 4, 2014 at 10:12 pm

    Don’t you dare shut this down, young man🙂

    The urge to write will return as you have new experiences and sometimes it’s just nice to read about someone else’s lovely, normal days and thoughts… Don’t be afraid to blog about the mundane… You never know when you touch someone else’s life for the simplest of reasons. You write really well and I, for one, and I’m sure the lovely people who’ve commented ahead of me, would love to see more of it if and when you’re ready! Xx

  2. Leanne Shirtliffe (Ironic Mom) August 25, 2014 at 11:27 pm

    Glad I’ll still see you on FB. All the best, C!

  3. Michelle August 25, 2014 at 11:14 pm

    This is awesome Christian. Change is also out of my comfort zone, and while I’m not pushing my boundaries as hard as you are, I am trying to change some big things in my life. I know it’s way hard to make yourself go against what comes naturally, mentally and physically. You are inspiring me to keep pushing through, during a period when my spirit is lacking strength. I wish you great continued success! And I hope to see you back here again someday.🙂

    • Christian Emmett August 27, 2014 at 9:36 pm

      Do keep going Michelle, and don’t concern yourself with the size of your steps. The mere fact that you’re taking them is more than enough, I’ve already regained a lot of the weight I lost earlier this year, but knowing that I CAN do it is all I need.

      Stumbles will happen, just try not to stay down for too long. You’ve got it in you, take your time. I hope to return to writing as well; there’s a part of me that still believes I’ve got a fair bit to say.🙂

  4. The Edmonton Tourist August 25, 2014 at 10:39 pm

    xxx WELL DONE YOU!!! As you know, same boat for me. I’m on year 4. I’ve fallen many times and the depression ebbs and flows. I also needed order and schedules and predictability….needed. The more I take risks, try new things and step out of my comfort zone, the more it becomes like a drug. I’ve figured out a balance that combines order and chaos. I love chaos now. It’s fun and scary but ultimately satisfying. 7 months makes it a habit, well and truly. I really hope you find your balance. I’m super proud of you, change for people like us is really hard. Own it, embrace it, and always look at how far you have come!!

    • Christian Emmett August 27, 2014 at 9:28 pm

      ET, you are doing amazingly! I’ve been following you on your own adventure and you have gotten me back in the spirit on many occasions. Thank you for just doing your thing; your enthusiasm and courage are contagious.🙂

  5. Crystal August 25, 2014 at 9:11 pm

    Christian – thank you for brightening my day each and every time I see you. There’s a light that shines inside you that can’t be dimmed. – Crystal

Leave a Reply

