Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

March Movie Madness Is Back!

Well my mate Clay’s at it again – March Movie Madness is underway again! This year he’s asked us to pit some of the greatest movie heroes/protagonists against each other in an all out brawl for the title of Champion. Some of the entrants have their eye on the prize and will do anything to get it; others may have it thrust upon them regardless of their desire to remain in the background.

This year I was slow off the mark and missed out on backing Indy. I was also deprived of a couple of backup heroes and that makes this competition a real fight for me. So I went with one of the toughest fighters that cinema has ever produced – “Mad” Max Rockatansky.

Fittingly, Max is no glory hound. Like numerous heroes, he has greatness thrust upon him and like the most relatable characters, his story is filled with pain – the kind of pain that drives normal people “Mad”. His career began with the Main Force Patrol (MFP), the shattered remains of a police force that existed until the Big War changed everything. His life is spent in two distinct and equally vital spheres – trying to bring order to the chaotic society of a post-apocalyptic future and being a devoted husband and father.

When the people that keep Max tethered to sanity are torn from him by sadistic criminals, Max turns his back on the MFP and everyone he ever knew. Behind the wheel of his V8 Interceptor he is unbeatable and he uses his skills to embark on a mission of justice before disappearing, becoming a ghost on the highways to be feared by any who prey on the weak and defenseless.

So I ask for your support in this year’s competition. You cannot ask for a truer cinematic hero than Mad Max; a man pushed too far by injustice and violence. While he has let go of many things and ties himself to no-one, he will defend to the death anyone who is suffering and he will shatter all who live by violence and value greed above human life.

Vote for Max over at Clay’s site today! Voting is done every 24 hours, so help Max rise to the top of the ranks!

12 responses to “March Movie Madness Is Back!

  1. skippingstones April 26, 2012 at 5:36 am

    Hey guy – where you at?

  2. edrevets March 14, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    Well I will not be supporting you until Belle from Beauty in the Beast dies, which is likely going to be soon since she’s up against the main character from Kill Bill and they both look really good in yellow but Uma kills in yellow, but….I wish you the best of luck. Unless we square off with one another.

  3. Ray Meinhardt March 14, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    Dude, I so love Mad Max. I’ll vote for that!

  4. Renée A. Schuls-Jacobson March 14, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    Christian: You’re lucky I love ya. That movie blew chunks.😉

    But.

    I like underdogs. Let’s see how far you can get with this.

    • Christian Emmett March 14, 2012 at 9:31 pm

      Renée, I’m glad you love me. You really didn’t like it? Really really? I’m also glad that differing opinions generally make things more interesting. I won’t hold it against you if you’ll do the same for me. And when a better hero comes along, you feel free to vouch for them. Because I love ya.😉

  5. educlaytion March 14, 2012 at 3:49 pm

    Ah, Mad Max. Legend on any continent. Always great to have you involved with whatever is going on. Wouldn’t be true movie madness without ya!

  6. skippingstones March 14, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    Hmmm…that was more than 50 words. 😉

    I was thinking about participating, but I’m slow in getting my act together, too. So I’ll make sure to give you a vote or two.

    • Christian Emmett March 14, 2012 at 6:26 pm

      Haha, I wrote less than 50 words in the official form, so surely that evens everything out?

      Thanks for your support Skipping, with the great contenders this year I think Max is going to need all the help he can get!

Leave a Reply

