Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

Say What?!

I was reading my friends’s’s’ (what’s the grammar there again? Possessive plurals get me every time!) blogs the other day and I stumbled upon something. Something that I’d missed last year and something that seemed to now be in its prime for me. After watching Renée welcome the first snow of the season (and am I understanding correctly that it came a little late?) with a celebratory dance, I visited her YouTube channel and had a bit of a look around. Because I like to see what my international friends get up to when you point a camera at them. I’d do the same for my local friends, but they seem to be a little camera-shy…

At any rate, I saw Renée’s video response to Jessica Buttram’s response to Jamie’s Rabbits’s response to … well you get the picture and I felt inspired to add my own input to the process. Now the overall Project is most likely well and truly finished, but some of my cyber-buddies have mentioned that they would like to hear my accent. So here it is:

Clay, you need to help me out with the whole “trolley” thing mate. Look at me floundering!

The Words: Aunt, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spittin’ Image, Alabama, Tennessee, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught
The Extra Credit Words: Cherry, Cheery, Completion, Serendipitous
The Questions:
  1. What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
  2. What is the bug that when you touch it curls into a little ball?
  3. What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
  4. What do you call gym shoes?
  5. What do you say to address a group of people?
  6. What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs?
  7. What do you call your grandparents?
  8. What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
  9. What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
  10. What do you call the thing you change the TV channel with?

Be warned – I may do this again. Feel free to comment if there’s anything in particular you’d like me to vlog about!🙂

19 responses to “Say What?!

  1. therosebandit March 7, 2012 at 3:31 am

    Well that was wonderful! Nice to put a name to a face! 🙂 You must me a neat freak as we all call it in the states as for a male’s apartment it is just simply shinning! PS I call carbonated beverages pop….LOL….

  2. Tamara March 2, 2012 at 2:46 am

    I think I adore you more now than ever before. A vee-log?! Adorable. Funny to me how many of your words sound American. But oh, when that Aussie accent comes out– yeah, I’m “keen” on that.😉

  3. skippingstones March 1, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    So cool that you did this, too! I saw a bunch of the others, going back layer into layer and just enjoyed the heck out of it. I even talked about it at work. I meant to do one and never got around to it, but maybe I eventually will.

  4. Ray Meinhardt March 1, 2012 at 11:45 am

    Here in Texas, we call that bug a pill bug, the bubbly drink is called soda water , the spider is called a daddy long leg, the grandparent are mama and papa, and when it rains and shines “the devil is beating his wife”! Amen and God Bless. Come on up to Texas sometime and I’ll buy you a steak.

    • Christian Emmett March 3, 2012 at 7:58 am

      I’ve heard a few people refer to them as pill bugs (or potato bugs) but I don’t think we have them here in Australia. I’ll have to find one and touch it! We also have soda water in Australia, but it’s not sweet. I couldn’t help but laugh at your sun shower term, and a Texan steak sounds great. I’ll let you know when I’m in the neighbourhood.

  5. thoughtsappear March 1, 2012 at 9:17 am

    Sooooo…am I the only person who calls the TV remote “the buttons?” Anybody?

  6. Leanne Shirtliffe March 1, 2012 at 1:11 am

    I love this. Notice how no one ever wants to imitate a Canadian accent. Ya, that’s me.

    And I call soda, “pop.”🙂

    • Christian Emmett March 3, 2012 at 7:54 am

      Thanks Leanne. I’m going to petition your publishing agent for an audio version of one of your books – spoken by you!

      I’ll add “pop” to my book so that conversation runs smoothly when I come to visit.😉

  7. Freda March 1, 2012 at 12:33 am

    Great to hear you Christian. Could you try this sentence next time you vlog:

    I had a buffet lunch onboard the Cairns train on a fine Friday.

  8. mairedubhtx March 1, 2012 at 12:05 am

    Apart from the “trolley” we’re not so different. We’d call that a shopping cart.

    • Christian Emmett March 3, 2012 at 7:51 am

      I like to think that we all have a lot more in common than some of us like to think. I understand that some people get confused when an Aussie asks “How are you going?”, which is our way of asking how someone is doing. They think we’re suddenly asking them how they’re getting somewhere, even when we haven’t said that we’re going anywhere!

      Thanks for dropping in!🙂

  9. Renée A. Schuls-Jacobson February 29, 2012 at 11:23 am

    Here is what WIkipedia has to say about the trolley:

    “Tram, cable car, or streetcar (an electric tram in UK English)
    Trolley, the streetcar scale-model in the children’s television series Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood
    Trolleybus, an electric bus
    Tourist trolley, a bus built to resemble a streetcar”

    Do you know about Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood? Google it!😉

    You have the neatest bookshelves I’ve ever seen. You know, as opposed to my sloppy bookshelves.

    • Christian Emmett February 29, 2012 at 11:43 am

      Thanks for that info Renée, I’ll follow up Mister Rogers’ Neighbourhood.🙂

      I love your bookshelves, I find that any kind of bookshelf “messiness” is usually due to the fact that a person has more books than shelves. In actuality, the bookshelf in my video contains the M-Z section of my movie collection. My bookshelf stands next to my desk and is out of shot. It’s still not as good as yours!

      • skippingstones March 1, 2012 at 12:15 pm

        How I love that you alphabetize your movies! I do that with my albums and tapes and cd’s, but my movies are organized by genre and then sub-organized by mood. It’s an extremely subjective and malleable system, but if I feel like watching a movie that is “sorta dark, but not too dark, quietish murder mystery with a little action that’s like that other one I like so much, but not that one I like so much”, then I know exactly where to look.

Leave a Reply

