Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

Guinness World Records – Enhancing Resumes Since 1955

Recently I’ve been hearing about a decrease in the job market. I’m not really worried about it myself, but given the upcoming change in my employment status I figured that I should do a bit of ground-work. You know what I found? I found that ground-work is boring. Then I remembered that lots of companies like people who think outside of boxes. Except probably the companies that make sensory deprivation tanks because after all, they’re boxes made for thinking and basically nothing else. I’m also pretty sure that the guys who make think tanks would be anti-thinking-outside-the-box as well, but I digress.

Anyway, I’ve been considering my options at a leisurely pace. Pondering whether it might pay to get a second degree or do some other kind of post-graduate study to help boost my chances of getting a job in a field that I enjoy. That got me thinking about degrees and certificates and other such academia and I began to worry that even with additional certification, I may still be too boring to hire. (On paper at least – I’m usually pretty exciting in person, I swear!) having pieces of paper didn’t seem like enough for me. I’d really like to walk into a potential employer’s office and be able to make an instant impression. Not only on an academic or aesthetic level but also on a level that portrays my passion for my chosen career path.

What better way to do that than to have a Guinness World Record under your belt (or in your resume folder – wherever you like to keep them…)?A couple of weeks ago a friend asked me a question related to the fact that she was enjoying a monster movie marathon. The question was of course purely conversational, however it piqued my interest and greased the creative cogs of my mind, resulting in today’s post. As a movie lover I took keen interest in knowing that the current World Record for longest movie marathon is just over 120 hours, set by a pair of champions who took part in the Netflix Popcorn Bowl in October 2008. This record has stood for just over 3 years now; my competitive side wants to take a shot at that title!

A little more research has shown that you can set a Guinness World Record for pretty much anything. While there are a few rules, there’s still a wide scope in which Guinness World Records can be held. One guy has a record for putting on the most pairs of gloves in one minute. What I’m getting at is that in the turbulent world of employment, where degrees and experience may be all well and good, appropriating the job of your dreams often requires something more.

When you walk proudly into your interview at that local movie theatre and mention that you happen to hold the World Record for the longest movie-watching marathon, there’s NO WAY they’re not going to make you an usher right there and then.

I’ve got some serious World Record planning to do…

What kind of Guinness World Record would you mention during an interview for your ultimate job?

What kind of World Record would you have a go at just for kicks?

7 responses to “Guinness World Records – Enhancing Resumes Since 1955

  1. skippingstones February 4, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    I saw a video of human and mattress dominos that looked like a lot of fun; I would do that.

  2. The Edmonton Tourist February 3, 2012 at 12:27 am

    There must be some way of earning a living breaking world records…perhaps circus side show? That would be heaps of fun! It fits with my theory that work should be fun and interesting too.

  3. therosebandit February 2, 2012 at 2:14 am

    I think if you put on your resume “King of NZ” then make up a really wonderful story….you could so get the job. Why not?? 😉 great post my friend! Let’s see…..you could blow any of those records out of the water…maybe completing the most jumping jacks in a minute perhaps? or be the first to dress in costume everyday for a year! That would be creative…

  4. Renée A. Schuls-Jacobson January 31, 2012 at 11:24 pm

    I’ll bet I could fold thousands of pairs of Youth Large underwear in an hour. It’s like a super-power. Probably.

Leave a Reply

