Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

2012 – End? Or Beginning…

Many people make resolutions whenever a new year rolls around. I’m not one of those people. I’ve always believed that any given day of the year is as good as any to change something, commit to something, try something new – you get the picture. This year is no different for me; well maybe a little different. Last year I made a few decisions about changes that needed to be made in my life. Instead of just making those decisions and then sitting back expecting things to fall into place (like I have in the recent past), I also committed myself to taking the necessary action and continuing until each goal has been achieved. I stepped courageously into 2012 with a renewed vigour and energy, excitedly anxious about the adventure I was determined to begin living.

Without even realising it, I started my new approach just in time for the awakening of my Chinese spiritual counterpart. If you don’t follow Chinese astrology, 2012 is the Year of the Dragon. An awesome friend of mine, Leanne Shirtliffe, gave her understanding of the personality of a Dragon in a recent blog post that I found to be extremely fun to read. (Let me just say also that if you pop over there and read a few more of her posts, you will find yourself the blissful recipient of many a belly laugh.)

As a person who washes down a good deal of cynicism and realism with a tall glass of belief in all things metaphysical and fantastical, I find myself in what I consider a unique position. While I have a very logical brain, I also possess a very open mind. I don’t really prescribe to astrology, but I do like to learn more about people and myself and one thing I’ve noticed is that some of this astrology business actually applies to me. Having had the pleasure of being born in 1976 (and thus having been able to eat dirt, play outside after dark and having to answer for my wrongdoings), I am a Fire Dragon according to the Chinese.

In general, Dragons are considered to be the most ostentatious, energetic and dynamic of all the creatures in the Chinese zodiac. We can also be tactless, impatient and impulsive, often acting before thinking and not always considering the consequences before jumping into anything we consider a challenge. Now even though I don’t follow horoscopes obsessively, I do have an appreciation for what they say about my character. I’ve definitely noticed that while I don’t fit neatly into the “Dragon Box”, my personality flashes through the many colours of that particular spectrum.

Important decisions were made by this particular Dragon at the end of last year on the back of a couple of sucker punches. This year I experienced my very first Chinese New year celebration thanks to a simple decision to be more actively open to adventure than I have been for a long time. Fittingly so, I was rewarded by a night of friendship and reverie. To top it all off, I will be changing careers this year. They say that we replace all the cells in our bodies every 7 years. Whether that’s true or not I’ll never know (unless one of you, my brilliant readers, informs me) but interestingly, when I leave my job next month to start a whole new adventure, I’ll have been there for 7 years. I don’t have my next step mapped out yet, but that’s how we Dragons roll. Sometimes I find that there are coincidences, and then there are coincidences.

What’s your (Chinese) sign? Do you relate to the attributes of your horoscope?

Do you have plans for 2012?

18 responses to “2012 – End? Or Beginning…

  1. bearyweather January 29, 2012 at 4:17 am

    I am a water Tiger … grrrr… since cats don’t like water, does that make me a contradiction or just extremely versatile? Versatile definitely sounds better😉
    I heard on the radio that this is the year of the water dragon, but I am sure your fire dragon characteristic and goals for the year can fight off any dampness that comes along. Keep your fire of change burning strong!

    • Christian Emmett January 31, 2012 at 9:23 am

      Hehehe, it makes you courageous and pioneering I say – willing to step into areas that others wouldn’t normally think you would visit.

      2012 is the year of the Water Dragon, and it’s been raining pretty much non-stop here since the Chinese New Year was rung in. Still, we all know about the conflict between Fire and Water, so if it’s going to be a good year for me, imagine how fantastic it’s going to be for everyone else!

  2. skippingstones January 28, 2012 at 7:49 am

    Yay, 2012! I’m feeling that this is going to be a good year, too. I totally understand what you were saying about wanting change, but then kind of sitting back and waiting for it to happen (to me, for me, around me?) without putting in the work. We have to create change; we have to make it happen! I’m glad to hear you are doing that for yourself. It’s not always easy, is it? It takes effort and concentration and planning and follow-through and it doesn’t get done from the couch.

    I’m excited for you and your new adventures. I hope I can be as brave as you (cause it takes a lot of that, too) and continue to branch out into new directions.

    Also, I’m a rooster.

    • Christian Emmett January 31, 2012 at 10:00 am

      It can be incredibly difficult to remain committed to change, but all I need to keep me going is the memories of some of the things I lost/ruined because of my old ways. Thank you for your encouragement Skipping, I really appreciate it.

      I’m absolutely sure that you can make whatever change you want in your life too, just remember to never beat yourself up too much if you stumble along the way.

      You’re a Rooster? That’s pretty great, they have a lot of good attributes!🙂

  3. Bindy January 27, 2012 at 9:16 am

    Good for you. I’m rooster and just found out I need urgent back surgery – loving 2012 already.

  4. thoughtsappear January 26, 2012 at 11:51 pm

    I’m a rooster. And I’m not really sure that it fits me. It says roosters like to be the center of attention. Definitely not me. But it says they’re trustworthy, and I think I am.

  5. educlaytion January 26, 2012 at 12:56 am

    I’m a snake. During college I remember thinking that I lived up to that title. Not sure what the good characteristics are.

    • Christian Emmett January 26, 2012 at 8:36 am

      From what I’ve read mate, Snakes are pretty brilliant. You guys have skills all over the place – charismatic, clever, philosophical, sympathetic… It looks like you’ve held onto those even after college my friend.

  6. Leanne Shirtliffe January 26, 2012 at 12:36 am

    Thanks for the link love, C! According to Placemat Science (as one of my readers called it), I am a pig. Oink. Oink. And I’m sturdy. Just what every woman wants to be described as. Sturdy. Like a farm truck. Like a squat building.

    And go, Fire Dragon. It’s your year!

    • Christian Emmett January 26, 2012 at 8:28 am

      Placemat Science – a fantastic term.🙂

      Oh dear, sturdy? And I thought I was bad at giving compliments. At any rate, I think you’re awesome and my opinion as a Dragon is pretty much the only one to listen to.😉

  7. Renee Schuls-Jacobson January 25, 2012 at 10:28 pm

    Christian: My prediction for you is that you will get a guest post out of me. Your friend, The Sheep. (Please don’t shiskabob me.)😉

  8. Freda January 25, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    my dear fire dragon, my reading for you this year will be not that you have a fiery time, but a red-hot one. The year ahead, correction, the path ahead for a particular serpent will not be challenging to a tee, but eye-opening and filled with glee. And in keeping with the Chinese lingo and hopes, Gong xi Fa Cai !
    (Wishing you a very prosperous and happy new year)🙂

Leave a Reply

