Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

On The Eleventh Day Of Christmas

Sometimes it’s impossible to be with your loved ones at Christmas time. Life is a complex creature and for many reasons, this holiday holds no significance to some people. If my last ten posts had you gagging on my disgustingly open-hearted love for the Season then this one might help you relax. If we find ourselves with some time off at the end of December and we have no other plans, I find that movies are a good way to pass the time if you don’t already have plans. Accordingly, whilst you may believe that Christmas movies are all sappy sentiments and lessons about forgiveness, sharing and caring – well, you’re only 80% correct.

There are numerous “Christmas” movies that don’t focus on that angle much, if at all. Lethal Weapon and Gremlins would be two examples I could randomly cite – both based on events that occur during Christmas, but far from traditional Christmas themes. I could go on, but I won’t.

Instead, I’m going to present to you some of my favourite Christmas movies. Here’s a list of eleven, in no particular order (but kind of on a least to most favourite scale…). I know that I’ve left a couple of movies off this list that should definitely be listed, but since I haven’t seen “It’s a Wonderful Life”, “The Polar Express” or “A Charlie Brown Christmas”, it didn’t feel right to have them present. I’m still waiting to watch “Rare Exports: A Christmas Tale” as well, so it has also missed the cut this year.

11. The Muppet Christmas Carol
10. Bad Santa
9. The Nightmare Before Christmas
8. A Christmas Story
7. Miracle on 34th St
6. How The Grinch Stole Christmas
5. Die Hard
4. Scrooged
3. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation
2. Elf
1. Love Actually

What are your favourite Christmas movies?

On the eleventh day of Christmas, the Season gave to me…

Eleven Christmas movies
Ten months distracted
Nine gifts for wrapping
Eight PM Carols
Seven tonnes of tucker
Six AM wake-up
Five days off
Four airborne hours
Three fresh breaths
Two swimming pools
and a trifle made for the Family

13 responses to “On The Eleventh Day Of Christmas

  1. Freda December 24, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    It’s a Wonderful Life is a must see. Watch it, and let all of us know .
    Movie review !!!! =hint! hint! hint!
    “listen, the bells are ringing, that means an angel earned his wings.”

  2. bearyweather December 23, 2011 at 10:32 am

    “It’s a Wonderful Life” is a must see … Oh my, I think you are the first person I have met that has never seen it. I don’t think I would count “Die Hard” as a “Christmas” movie … in my opinion, to qualify, a movie needs more then a few twinkling lights at the beginning and Christmas tunes as background music.

    By the way … Charlie Brown Christmas is playing for free at Hulu.com (only a 43 minute time investment) … as a kid, I always like the clay animation movie of Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (with Burl Ives as the snowman) better.

    Thanks for sharing your 12 days of Christmas … I have a hard time imagining Christmas in the summer time without snow … It has always been very cold and snowy here.

    • Christian Emmett December 23, 2011 at 10:41 am

      I’m determined to change that fact, Beary. Soon I will no longer be untouched by the magic of “It’s a Wonderful Life”.🙂

      And I hear you about Die Hard. Sometimes though I like to watch movies with a loose Christmas association that are a little more action packed. I always enjoyed the Rudolph movie as well.

      Thanks for reading along, one day I’ll know what it’s like to have a snowy Christmas – and it’ll probably feel quite strange!

  3. skippingstones December 23, 2011 at 7:59 am

    I’m sorry…my vision blurred there for a moment when I read you have not seen It’s a Wonderful Life or Charlie Brown. I think you should go do that.

    Right now, I mean.

    Anyway, I forgot that Die Hard was set during Christmas, I love that one. I’ll have to remember that for next year!

  4. Dana December 23, 2011 at 7:11 am

    What about Die Hard 2?

  5. educlaytion December 23, 2011 at 2:02 am

    I’ve been following your Days through my phone, so commenting is often tough, but I have to jump in here and say WHAT?! You STILL haven’t seen It’s a Wonderful Life? I’m stunned, STUNNED I say. Didn’t we discuss this last year? I say make it a Christmas goal. You’ll appreciate it.

    • Christian Emmett December 23, 2011 at 9:21 am

      Thanks for sticking with me mate, you know I think you’re right – we have talked about this. I will make sure that I watch it as soon as possible. I’ll try to watch it before the New Year, but if I can’t I’ll watch it straight after. Consider it New Year’s Resolution #1.

  6. thoughtsappear December 23, 2011 at 1:39 am

    I love A Nightmare Before Christmas. I’ve never seen Love Actually, but it’s supposed to come today from Netflix.

  7. Leanne Shirtliffe December 23, 2011 at 1:04 am

    You’re no longer “undefined”!

    And It’s a Wonderful Life. Sigh. I’m in love with Jimmy Stewart.

    • Christian Emmett December 23, 2011 at 9:17 am

      Yay!!😀

      It could just be me, but as I was watching numerous YouTube clips last night to get all my links, something about Jimmy Stewart reminded me a bit of our man Clay Morgan.

      Did things just get weird?

Leave a Reply

