Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

On The Fifth Day Of Christmas

Ah, the holidays. You know I love my family and friends tremendously and they’re always at the top of my list of important things in life. You also know that I love Christmas, both for its religious significance and for the underlying “be nice to each other” theme. But there’s another reason I love Christmas. A simple, selfish reason that I’m pretty sure even the grinchiest Christmas Humbugs can drink to. Three simple words that will make even the stoniest heart fill with happiness and bring tears to many an eye.

Image borrowed from Shauna Younge's blog - Sweet Tooth

Time. Off. Work.

Who doesn’t like to take a few days off every now and then, if for no other reason than because everyone else is doing it? We all put in our hours throughout the year and I’m fairly sure that most of you will agree that we don’t take enough breaks to offset our time in the office. If statistics are to be believed (and 6 out of 9 people say that statistics are 91% accurate 86% of the time…) we’re doing more and more work at home in addition to our usual hours, so there’s a blatant requirement for some unwinding time. I know that there are many who would say “Seriously Christian, this is the Christmas Season we’re discussing here. It’s hardly a stress-free holiday!” and those people are absolutely correct. But I’m not giving up my positive approach!

Personally, I don’t take long breaks from work so I cherish Christmas (and Easter) for this reason. Without fail I get a guaranteed minimum of five glorious days off to fill as I see fit. And whenever I can manage it, I will fill those days with family and friends because even though they may be stressful at times, those days are the ones that help get me through the other 360. They also make some of the best memories.

On the fifth day of Christmas, the Season gave to me…

Five days off
Four airborne hours
Three fresh breaths
Two swimming pools
and a trifle made for the Family

2 responses to “On The Fifth Day Of Christmas

  1. DNatica December 17, 2011 at 11:59 am

    So true. I’m an RA so I live where I work. I am so ready to get away for a few weeks!

    I’ve enjoyed reading over your days of Christmas and can’t wait to see what comes next. Happy holidays.🙂

    • Christian Emmett December 17, 2011 at 2:03 pm

      I hope that the coming posts will keep everyone intrigued. I don’t know how I’d got with living where I work; I need to draw a line between work and life!

      Happy holidays to you too, thanks for stopping by and joining in.🙂

Leave a Reply

