Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

Artists You Need To Know – Passenger

Image courtesy of Passenger's Official Facebook Page

If you aren’t already aware of Mike Rosenberg, allow me to remedy the situation now.

Last night I had the distinct pleasure of attending a live performance by the “band” Passenger. I use the quotation marks because Passenger is actually only one man – Mike Rosenburg. However, he’s one of the most talented musicians I’ve come across in a very long time. Tickets had been purchased well in advance and rightly so – his original show sold out so quickly that a second one was organised by popular demand.

Passenger is the kind of performer who has the ability to captivate an audience. He stands a little awkwardly, shifting his weight and seeming a little uncomfortable being in the spotlight. There’s no attitude, no rock-star aura. He’s just a man who has found his talent. When he speaks, he is self-effacing, engaging and almost apologetic for the music he performs. But when he starts playing and singing, his talent is absolutely unmistakable.

Of course his mellow, folk sound isn’t for everyone. With many of his songs resoundingly bittersweet, I doubt that you’ll hear him on mainstream radio anytime soon. Which to me is disappointing. He writes from personal experience and with emotion that everyone can relate to. Many of his songs reflect some kind of loss and the pain of unrequited love. Naturally though, his talent shines through just as well in tunes that could easily bind nations together in agreement:

*Advisory – the music video below contains explicit lyrics and a reference to the X-Factor!

If you’re looking for some great new music, you could do much worse than checking out Passenger. For more of his music, check out the links below:

If you like his work, you may also enjoy the music of his friends and supporting acts last night – Ed Sheeran, Stu Larsen and Bree Bullock. In the meantime, I’ll leave you with Passenger’s cover of Simon and Garfunkel’s classic, Sound of Silence. I think you’ll agree that it’s absolutely astounding.

13 responses to “Artists You Need To Know – Passenger

  1. Annie May 31, 2013 at 4:40 am

    only a while later he’s all over mainstream radio. so proud of him

  2. skippingstones November 15, 2011 at 6:28 am

    Thanks Christian, I really liked that first song – I’m going to go check out some more…

  3. Renée A. Schuls-Jacobson November 14, 2011 at 4:08 am

    Oh Christian, this is TOTALLY my music. His lyrics are beautiful and his folky sound is old but new. Now I shall go and check out more of his stuff and likely download some. I like to feel a little sad when I listen to music. Is that weird? His lyrics take me back to a place and time when I was young. That line that is wistful: “I don’t knew where and I don’t know when/ But I believe we will be lovers again” (or something close to that…) um, he had me right there.😉

    I’m guessing he got you in that same place.

    That empty place we are always trying to fill.

    • Christian Emmett November 14, 2011 at 10:31 am

      Renée, there is nothing weird about that at all. I tend to listen to music that suits – or creates my mood. Passenger’s music takes me through some of the events of my life that maybe I wish had happened or turned out differently and there’s definitely melancholy attached.

      He definitely writes music that is well-suited to that place. There are a couple of songs that I particularly like at the moment – “Caravan” and “Golden Thread” (the latter is a song that I found extremely applicable to a part of my life that’s long gone but may never be forgotten.)

      I’m glad that you have enjoyed what you’ve heard so far; I expect that listening to more of his music will only improve your opinion of his talent.😉

  4. sarah November 13, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    loved your review Christian….

    Just a little sad to see you spelt his name wrong.

    It does help to spell artists name correct when trying to give them a helping hand…

  5. bearyweather November 13, 2011 at 2:30 am

    Love finding new “folksy” musicians thanks for the introduction.

    To return the favor, check out Cliff Eberhardt … same story, one of the best guitarist ever, writes his own songs (a lot of them about lost love) .. still not a big national star but his fans are very dedicated (he is very down to earth, I am glad he is not a big star). I love his older work (solo with just his guitar) … I am still learning to love his newest two (they are jazzier and one is done with friends). Has many videos on YouTube. Try this one to start: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BSe-oxyEvyY or this one http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tD1F2Ob5TpU
    His music site: http://www.cliffeberhardt.net/music.php

  6. Charlotte November 12, 2011 at 6:28 am

    Once you’ve hopped on the Passenger train you’ll never get off😉

Leave a Reply

