Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

I Made A Mistake – Give Me A Nobel Prize!

At the beginning of this month, an Australian Professor by the name of Brian Schmidt was one of three scientists to receive a Nobel Prize for Physics. He was heading up a team of astronomers who were exploring the results of supernovae explosions and their discovery led directly to a Nobel Prize. Naturally, one of our news programs interviewed Mr Schmidt and he explained the research that his team had been doing and the exciting (and galaxy destroying – in however many billion years) discovery that had gained them such enormous recognition.

While the details of the actual research and discovery were very interesting (to some), it was the introduction of the interview that struck me the hardest, clearly identifying me as a forerunner for the next round of Nobel Prizes that will be awarded. When introducing the story, the presenter mentioned that the winners of the Prize initially believed that they had made a mistake in their observations…

So if I’m to understand this correctly, I am by my own faulty logic a prime candidate for a Nobel Prize. I’m not going to be greedy and insist that I make a clean sweep of all six categories, however I am able to present a very clear case that outlines me as a valid choice when decision time rolls around. I’ve made some very interesting mistakes on behalf of humanity.

Peace: I joined the Army Reserve years ago but had to quit the day after they gave us an introduction to the Steyr Rifle. Even though I wasn’t going to be an infantryman, holding that tool built specifically to kill was just too much for my inner pacifist;

Chemistry: This is one that I’d have to share with Wolf Brother, who helped me discover that through careful liberal application of Cinzano, a human being (namely myself) will transform into a friendly and overexcited velociraptor;

Physics: I saw Halley’s Comet once and thought it was an alien spaceship;

Medicine or Physiology: I don’t think we need to rehash the many sugar-highs that I have endured and yet have still managed to remain unaffected by diabetes. There’s got to be something in that;

Literature: Just have a look at a few of my previous posts! There’s gold in there I tell ya, literary gold! Also, if it helps – I mispronounced macabre once in high school when reading aloud to the class.

When it all boils down though, what I really took away from the interview with Nobel Prize winning Astronomer Brian Schmidt was that even when we come across something unexpected when we’re chasing our dreams or following our hearts, it’s never a bad thing. Make all the mistakes you can with as much energy as you can muster while you barrel on towards your ultimate happiness. You will be rewarded.

Which Nobel Prize would you love to win by mistake?

11 responses to “I Made A Mistake – Give Me A Nobel Prize!

  1. Renée A. Schuls-Jacobson October 15, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    “I mispronounced macabre once in high school when reading aloud to the class.”

    So yesterday, I sent an email to my Department Chair telling her I needed a pneumonic device to remember someone’s name.

    Ahem.

    She was pretty sure I meant mnemonic device.

    Ouch.

    I think you are a sharp as a tack. Just #Don’tBeA tack pointing up a chair.😉

  2. bearyweather October 14, 2011 at 12:48 am

    Fun post. Of course, I am looking forward to my medical award … for surviving two surgeries that went wrong within 3 weeks of each other.

  3. educlaytion October 12, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    If mistakes pave the path to greatness then brother I am sprinting. I learned the correct way to say many words by speaking in front of a class as a student. As a teacher these days, I’m always paranoid before saying certain words. I constantly use those word pronouncing sites so I can hear terms from all the countries I teach about.

    • Christian Emmett October 13, 2011 at 9:08 am

      We’re better off for having teachers like you Clay – those who haven’t been afraid to take the risks and are now able to pass on more than just the book learnin’.

      What a great idea, using pronunciation websites to enrich your classes! If it counts for anything, I’m giving you a gold star for that.🙂

  4. Stephanie Bennis October 12, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    Very smart post! And if it helps, I think I still might mispronounce “macabre.” I could see myself winning the literature prize by mistake. I write what I think and somehow that has managed to reached a good amount of people. Who knew ramblings can make such an impression?

    • Christian Emmett October 13, 2011 at 8:59 am

      Thanks! I was so excited about reading to the class and when my pronunciation was corrected by the teacher I couldn’t believe it. Still, I learned something new.😉

      From what I’ve read on your blog, you’ve got some great insight. I’ll definitely read more. I’ve found that often, people get more out of some o the things we talk about than we think. Keep up the great blogging!

Leave a Reply

