Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

Thumbs Up Everybody – For Rock And Roll!

Happy Friday everyone!

Yesterday was the third annual R U OK? Day here in Australia, a national day of asking a simple question with lifesaving potential. If you don’t want to follow the link, R U OK? is a not-for-profit organisation whose purpose is to provide national focus and leadership on suicide prevention by empowering Australians to have open and honest conversations and stay connected with people in their lives. The statistics for suicide and depression in Australia are astonishingly high (geographical isolation doesn’t help when people feel remote enough within a community) and personally, I have nothing but praise for the work that this organisation is doing to encourage us to simply ask a question and remind someone that we care about them. We may not even realise that we might just save a life.

I’m not here to preach though, not today! It’s a glorious Friday morning and the combination of sunshine and warm temperature is like a siren-call to this argonaut who is unfortunately bound tightly to his corporate desk and will not feel the delicious embrace of the Spring today. Nevertheless, it is Friday and there will be no mourning here!

We all feel a bit off at times. A little less than wonderful. I certainly do and there’s nothing wrong with that. When these times come along there are a few things I like to do to kick the blues. Sometimes it means getting out into the sunshine, heading to the park or beach to just get away from the rabble and clear my head. Sometimes it’s catching up with Wolf Brother and his partner or my other brilliant friends to share a laugh and connect with others. Sometimes all it takes is a movie or a song. Here are a few YouTube clips that help get my positivity-meter charged up again.

Songify This – Believe In Yourself

I cannot help but laugh and smile because of this kid. Even the original video is just awesome.

Jeffster – Africa (from the TV show Chuck)

This is totally me at karaoke. “Let the man have his dream.”

Daft Punk – Harder Better Faster Stronger

The beat and the lyrics just make me want to push through and get groovy!

Frank Turner – Reasons Not To Be An Idiot

It may not sound like it, but I find this song to be very strengthening. I’m a firm believer in taking responsibility for myself and my actions, and this song is to me as Piper Bayard so aptly put it over at Lessons From Teachers and Twits – a “loving ass-kicking”.

This is a brilliant tune to listen to to remember that we all have more in common than we think. When we’re being down on ourselves, it’s important to remember that we’re not as bad as we think and others aren’t as great as we might make out.

These are just a few of the many tunes that help get me into a much better mood. If they can bring a bit of sunshine to any of you then my work here is done. Have a fantastic weekend!🙂

What sort of things help you get out of a flunk?

12 responses to “Thumbs Up Everybody – For Rock And Roll!

  1. skippingstones September 18, 2011 at 6:18 am

    I love the R U OK idea – we don’t talk to people much. Or I should say, for as much talking as we do in a day, we don’t generally ask this kind of question – just check in with people and see how they’re doing. At least I don’t. And I should. Every day.

    • Christian Emmett September 18, 2011 at 8:52 am

      A lot of us don’t and it’s such a simple thing to do. It is a great idea and will hopefully become a huge success. It’s a shame that so many people are unable to approach someone and tell them that something’s wrong.

  2. skippingstones September 18, 2011 at 6:15 am

    We are easing into fall out here on the east coast of the US – yesterday was the first actual cool day. There’s just something about the changing of the seasons that makes me antsy and happy and hopeful and…a little new myself. I guess it’s just the feel of change happening all around me.

    As for general funk, I think just making myself Do Something. Action, motion, movement! I really like the last song, and that’s good advice, “get outside!”

    • Christian Emmett September 18, 2011 at 9:03 am

      Action is definitely a good way to get things rolling again. I’m with you about the change of seasons – Spring has definitely put something into me that makes me feel like there’s a bit of positive change in the air.🙂

  3. Piper Bayard September 17, 2011 at 10:06 am

    I love the Frank Turner song and the whole concept of an R U OK? Day. Thank your for the shout out. I really enjoy your blog.🙂

  4. Blisstrack September 16, 2011 at 11:16 am

    Well, it’s Thursday here too🙂 But it doesn’t matter🙂 it’s a great post… I like to hear “beautiful day” from U2 when I’m a little down. Also “viva la vida” from Coldplay. And party and happy music…… I don’t usually hear party music but it cheer me up.

  5. Renee Schuls-Jacobson September 16, 2011 at 10:47 am

    Thanks for mentioning Piper on my blog! Her post is truly wonderful, as are all the inspiring Wednesday posts from great writers as they write about the great teachers in their lives.

    Is it Friday there already? We have a few hours until tomorrow yet on this coast of the USA.😉

    Fun post!

    • Christian Emmett September 16, 2011 at 10:55 am

      Your whole blog is great Renée, such a pleasure to read! It is Friday here already, I thought about the time difference this morning before I posted but woke up in such a good mood that I couldn’t wait.

      I hope you have a great Friday and an awesome weekend.🙂

Leave a Reply

