Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

This Blog May Go To My Head.

What a week this last one has been! Blog-wise at least, there’s been quite a bit of action here in the realm of A&I. While traffic to this little blog has remained steady, there have been a couple of developments that have highlighted to me exactly how head-spinningly precarious the world of blogging can be at times.

I’ll start with the good news first because, to paraphrase one of my favourite bloggers – there’s always a chance I might die before we get to the bad news (thanks Paul, that’s advice I think we can all live by). So here it is:

I’ve been offered a chance to have my blog added to a directory! Having only ever really been approached by people who want directions or money before, this opportunity is quite appealing and I’m having a little trouble taking it seriously right now. I’m still considering it – all I need to do is put a link on my page to their site and in return I’ll be part of a site that will increase the traffic that comes through here; potentially turning me into some kind of semi-superstar! I’m not sure that I’m ready for that.

Any advice about the above (especially from my seasoned blogger friends) would be greatly appreciated. Should I start investigating security services? Do I need to investigate disguise options for my trips to the supermarket? I have no idea just how out of control things might become. I’m just a guy, writing a blog, hoping to bring people some humor…

Now I suppose I should address the less savoury side of blog fame. You’ve no doubt noticed that I’ve begun posting movie reviews. Two thus far, to be precise. These reviews are being taken very seriously, people. Not necessarily by me, but by others.

Thanks to my recent review of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Part II) it has become evident that there are people out there whose opinion differs to mine. When writing my review I was aware of the significance of the topic but I was SHOCKED  to receive a comment that was quite verbose in outlining how different this person’s opinion was from mine.

Naturally, when berating someone on the internet, this person chose the handle “Anonymous1” in order to make it abundantly clear exactly who I was answering to. Ordinarily I would have approved a comment that voiced a differing opinion, however this one has had such a thoroughly hilarious shattering effect on me that I will grant it pride of place in this post.

Behold, posted by “Anonymous1” in response to Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Part II):

Harry Potter SUCKS!
He’s the most useless & stupid (sh*t) character created.
Harry Potter is scum, dumb moron & gangster a****le.(His brainless fans, actors & actresses, J.K. Rowling, etc are weak-minded, sore losers with low IQ)
All of his books, movies, etc are all sh*t, all dump, garbage, rubbish & suck-a**.
He must be removed from this face of this planet.
Harry Potter & Daniel Radcliffe (& their fans, forever) SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS & SUCKS!

This response is a blessing to me. It shows that I am really making it as an online reviewer. Thank you, Anonymous1, for validating me. I am choking up with pride. All I have to say is:

Do any of you want to offer a rebuttal for this comment?
To my fellow bloggers/reviewers out there – have you had moments like these that make the hard work so worthwhile?

19 responses to “This Blog May Go To My Head.

  1. therosebandit September 2, 2011 at 5:59 am

    OMGoodness I just love your attitude!!! Adventurer you are really doing something positive! When the tough get going the going KEEP going!! A response is a response. 😉

  2. thoughtsappear September 1, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    Wait…did Anonymous think Harry Potter sucks? I’m not sure…maybe if he had typed that word one more time….

  3. The Edmonton Tourist August 31, 2011 at 3:32 am

    Go with your gut. Pro – more people get to read how fabulous you are Con – more wingnuts telling you your opinion sucks. More is more. Risks are what make life interesting.

  4. girlonthecontrary August 31, 2011 at 12:06 am

    Haha, when I saw you post this on Twitter as “I may be getting drunk with imaginary power.” I thought you meant you were using your imagination to get drunk. I was intrigued and a little too excited. 🙂

  5. educlaytion August 30, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    Angry comments are part of the deal. They can be pretty fun too. Congrats on the directory offer. Take it!

  6. Fred August 30, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    What an adventure. Go for it!

  7. Ape No. 1 August 30, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    Perhaps the overuse of the word SUCKS indicates that they may be more of a Twilight fan than a Harry fan.

    Scum, gangster? Are they perhaps confusing the Harry Potter series with the God Father which would explain their disappointment if they have read and watched the wrong series of books and films. Do a review on the God Father movies and books and see if they complain about the lame depiction of wizards and witches made even more so by their strange Italian accents and use of Tommy guns.

    • Christian Emmett August 30, 2011 at 9:42 pm

      I suspect that they may indeed be a fan of Twilight. I also think you make a great point about a Godfather review; ot would be interesting to see if our phantom commenter has something to say about that.

  8. Jeyna Grace August 30, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    I saw that same comment on another blog.. i think that person copy and pasted on all the DH reviews. HAHA! But nice post though!

  9. Mickey Richards August 30, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    Not to downplay your leaps up the ladder of success, I’m sorry but until you enter the heady world of
    “First!!!!”
    you’ll never know whether or not you’ve truely made it!
    That said you should definitely be linking to add traffic to your page. You’re far too talented and witty for us to have you all to ourselves!

    • Christian Emmett August 30, 2011 at 9:37 pm

      You are 100% correct Mickey, thanks for levelling me out there. I needed that. I anxiously await the day that I log on here and see that one little word, trailed by so many exclamation points that will truly mark me as an internet legend. 😉

  10. Man of Steele August 30, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    Wow. There is a lot here to dwell on.
    Sadly the 2nd half of the blog drowns out the first. 😉
    I say post a link.
    It will give us followers an opportunity to find humorous ways to mention the link in our replies.
    On the subject if Harry potter I can offer no opinion. I have neither read the books nor seen the movies. Placing me in an excellent opportunity to be on a Harry potter jury, should it ever go before a court of law.
    I did find the point about Dan Radcliff and his friends sucking “forever” amusing. I feel assumptions towards the writers age / level of education could be accurately made on that statement. I must say though as someone who has read Anne Rice, I have an irrational distaste for anything twilight related.

    • Christian Emmett August 30, 2011 at 9:38 pm

      You know, I never thought about that element my friend! I will go ahead and email the administrator and get my blog added – even if it only gives my readers ammunition with which to take pot-shots at me from time to time. I’m here for the fun of it after all!

      🙂

Leave a Reply

