Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part II

There’s one thing that is beyond debate: the story of Harry Potter, his friends and enemies has been one of the greatest literary and cinematic achievements of all time. Whether you love it, loathe it or float somewhere in between, there’s no denying that you know SOMETHING about it.

My history with Harry Potter isn’t complex but it’s hard to write a review about this movie in particular without making at least some reference to it. I have to admit that I haven’t read the books. Yet. I only heard of the books when they were on the fast-track to World-renown and I was one of those trend-snubbers who adamantly refused to pick up a book just because everyone else was doing it. The release of the first movie piqued my curiosity and from then on in I was hooked. It’s only a matter of time now before I pick up the novels to read about all the bits I apparently missed out on through transferral to the big screen.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Part II) continues Harry, Ron and Hermoine’s search for the final Horcruxes that are key to the utter destruction of Voldemort – a search which is fraught with danger and obstacles as Voldemort grows more powerful (although it seems; not powerful enough to fix his nose…) and seeks to ensure his own victory over Harry and indeed the entire wizarding world.

The movie opens with scenes that allow a quick recap of (Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows) Part I. I have to admit that, due to overwhelming grief at the loss of Professor Dumbledore, I had missed the first part of this final episode. Luckily, Wolf Brother filled me in on the drive to the cinema as well so I was up to speed by the time the lights dimmed in the theatre.

Once we’re all up caught up, the pace is amplified. Time is of the essence to our heroes and they are well aware of this fact. The plot travels well, pursued constantly by the gravity of the task at hand and the rising possibility of mortal danger. While Harry, Hermione and Ron battle their way towards each of the Horcruxes they need, they are met by opposition as Voldemort builds towards a final battle against Hogwarts and all that it stands for.

Without having read the books it’s impossible for me to identify how well the adaptation worked but as a “blank slate” viewer I have been impressed ever since “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone” by the acting, effects and strong storyline of the series. The characters are well developed through the storyline and the portrayals by the actors (ranging from extremely competent at worst all the way up to stellar)  bring to life a complex, exciting and believable world.

As a fan of special effects, this movie feeds my appetite without overdoing it. With the recent explosion of 3D in Tinseltown, many movies are (in my mind at least) hurting themselves by overworking this angle. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Part II) delivers an effective mix of effects and story, ensuring that viewers will be captivated by the magical visuals but won’t be blinded to the tale.

Those who stand with Harry face off against Voldemort and his co-conspirators in a battle to end all battles and this final movie reveals misaligned alliances, accidental heroes and the power of conviction – amongst other things. All in all I found it to be a fitting end to an excellent and captivating tale.

I give this movie 5 Golden Snitches out of 5.

P.S. Do you have any feedback on my reviewing skills? I’d love to hear about how I can improve these things. Feel free to comment away!

6 responses to “Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part II

  1. Pingback: This Blog May Go To My Head. « Adventures and Insights

  2. skippingstones August 28, 2011 at 11:21 am

    The books are well worth the read. I started just as the third book was being released, and just before the big HP explosion. I worked at a toy store at the time and there were always parents reading the newest book during the children’s events we had. I can say I all but devoured them myself – not eating, not sleeping, not acknowledging other human beings in the room kind of absorbed. Pretty much like anyone else.

    Another option is to listen to the book on audio. Jim Dale narrates and he is just incredible. He makes the characters come to life, to the point where you know who’s talking without the character being identified by name. I’ll have to admit that I actually just listened to the last 3 books and didn’t read them. You can probably rent them from the library.

    If you do either, you won’t be disappointed. The movies are pretty true to the books, with a few extra additions of their own. But the books are more savory. More story, more detail, more everything. And their actually quite well written.

    • Christian Emmett August 28, 2011 at 12:47 pm

      I’ve heard many tales about the highly captivating powers of the books. I’ll definitely get to them, don’t worry about that.

      The audio book is an interesting option – The last time I listened to an audio book there was a statement at the beginning of the tape that went like this: “You can read along with me in your book. You will know it is time to turn the page, when you hear the chimes sound like this. *chingly-chimes*”

  3. Freda August 26, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    excellent – now i want to watch it 🙂

Leave a Reply

