Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

Stage One – Making The Decision.

Image courtesy of David Reece @ Flickr

Over the past few weeks I’ve been out of the writing “zone”. I was entangled in a period of contemplation – one of those “What am I doing with my life?” scenes that pop up on many of us from time to time. Or maybe only some of us, I’m not sure. I can really only speak for myself. In a decisive effort to become the change I wish to see in the World I took action. Being the kind of person who approaches things holistically, I naturally needed to start things moving in a few different areas.

Physically – I bought a new pair of runners and started jogging a couple of nights a week in addition to going to the gym; variety being the spice of life and all that. I also started a diet. By that I mean I downloaded an app for my iPhone that lets me see how many calories are contained in all the food I eat in order to try to eat more healthily. I’ve also bought cookbooks and utensils to help improve my culinary skills.

Spiritually – I contemplated a whole lot of stuff. Big picture thoughts about life and everything it entails. I even sought guidance from a Clairvoyant, although I won’t go into the details. Isn’t it the same as telling people what you wished for when you blew out your birthday candles? Either way, some very interesting things were said that seem highly contradictory to the kind of person I am. So it’ll be very interesting to see whether any of it actually happens. I’m not holding my breath.

Mentally – I spent most of my time banging around this particular hallway. I’m naturally a big thinker; people who know me would say that I often think too much. Overthinking is a trait that I’m not a big fan of and it’s something that I’m working hard on controlling. Enough of that though; the primary thing I had to think about was exactly what I want to be doing and how I’m going to get there. I believe I’ve decided on the first part of the deal.

Ultimately, I’d love to be a philanthropist.

After weighing myself up and beginning to really address the person that I am, it seems to me that my primary strength lies in helping other people. I’ve always been able to see the greatness in people and to help them on their way to excellence and I think that I should be able to do that in a full-time capacity. One of the things I loved about teaching was that I was helping my students achieve their goals; it made me feel like I was contributing to a better World.

Now I’m not doe-eyed about this, you understand. After pretty much an entire career centered around customer service I’ve developed an eye for people who are just looking for an easy score. I’m quite sure that my historical experience with people from many walks of life has brought me to an excellent platform from which to make the jump into professional philanthropy. Knowing what it takes to be a philanthropist, I now move onto Stage Two. Probably the most important stage in the whole process, I’ve kind of hit a bit of a speed bump on my road to making my mark in the World.

Does anyone have any idea how I become independently wealthy in a very short period of time?

14 responses to “Stage One – Making The Decision.

  1. Blisstrack August 24, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    I think the key here is to take one step at a time. At least that’s what I do with my study because if not, I will drive myself crazy….
    Put one little thing you should do tomorrow to get to your goal. Don’t think on the next month, or even week. Just thinking for tomorrow is a great deal already.
    Small steps….

  2. educlaytion August 24, 2011 at 12:08 am

    I’m glad you’re seeking that kind of clarity in a fresh way. Best to you on the search.

  3. skippingstones August 23, 2011 at 10:12 am

    This sounds like a good plan. Let me know if you figure out the money thing, because I could use some help with that myself.

    All kidding aside, I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up, and I’m about to turn 42. I feel like I should be figuring this out by now. How is it that some people know by the time they’re 16 or 17 years old? Where was I when they passed out those papers?

    • Christian Emmett August 23, 2011 at 10:44 am

      I totally agree with you; I know that it’s highly unlikely that I’ll actually become a Philanthropist and I suppose that’s what the past few weeks have been for me – still unsure of what I want to do with my life but knowing that there’s got to be something better than what I’m doing now.

      I’ll certainly let you know if I discover the secret to making money quickly (and legally), but in the meantime you just remember that you are doing fine. I was in the back playing Dungeons and Dragons when they were handing out the personal life initiatives but I don’t recall seeing you in my group…

      • skippingstones August 23, 2011 at 11:11 am

        HAHA! I love it! I think I was playing hookie from school that day. We only skipped a handful of times and we did things like go to Skyline Drive (in the scenic Shenandoah mountains). Real big rebels we were! Like grandma tourists. Of course, we slept late first, so there.

  4. The Edmonton Tourist August 23, 2011 at 3:34 am

    As you know, I am on the same journey. In my quest to be wealthy, I’ve read “The Secret”. All it’s done for me is give me great parking and a fab camping spot. Maybe it will work better for you! Doing all those changes at once is hard, but they seem to go hand in hand. Good luck my friend!

    • Christian Emmett August 23, 2011 at 8:49 am

      I’m following your journey with great support and interest ET, you’re doing so well! Thanks for the tip, I’ve heard a lot about “The Secret” and may have to give it a bit of a look.

  5. bearyweather August 23, 2011 at 12:25 am

    Don’t rush the change … we get the most out of the journey. Putting time, hard work and quality into the process will give you a better outcome. Not the answer we ever want to hear, but I think all of the people that told me that growing up were right.

  6. Man of Steele August 22, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    Personally, in my experience money only comes from 4 ways.
    1) Earned
    2) Bequeathed
    3) Stolen
    4) Won

    If I were in a different position mate, I’d take us both to the south of Africa and we could help feed the starving.
    Perhaps you could look at taking your skillset (management) and your fantastic people skills to something like organising and implementing Aid strategies with the Red Cross / Médecins Sans Frontières / Ox-Fam or any number of reputable organisations. .

    • Christian Emmett August 22, 2011 at 10:39 pm

      Very true mate, and it seems that I’m only lined up to receive money the hard way. Not that I’m adverse to the hard work; it just means my plans run a slow course.

      I should definitely follow up with some of the aid organisations to see what kind of opportunities are about.

Leave a Reply

