Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

Don The Outfit – Become The Legend.

Last week an opportunity fell into my lap that I haven’t seen for over a year. The last time this particular chance presented itself, I squandered it away and have been kicking myself ever since. This time though, I will make the most of the advantage I have in that I have preparation time. Time to fully embrace the direction in which I am heading and hopefully create something that will echo through eternity – or at least be spoken about for 6 months. Either or, I’m not fussed.

What kind of opportunity gets me so worked up you might ask? Have I been asked to be the face of the new L’Orรฉal men expert campaign? No. Have I been offered the chance to travel the World and write about all the adventures I have along the way? Not yet. What has happened is this – I’ve been invited to a birthday party. It would be exciting enoug if it were just another birthday party but it isn’t. It’s a costume party!

I’ve not been to many costume parties but I’ve always revelled in the idea. Maybe my interest in costume parties stems from the fun of being someone else. Having grown up with an active imagination it’s always been fun to picture myself as a hero from a fantasy world or one of history’s greats. I still remember receiving my first ever costume one Christmas. Superman; one of the greatest superheroes ever!

Yes, Superman enjoys his sweets.

Over the years I’ve taken full advantage of invitations to costume parties whenever I’ve had the opportunity. As I mentioned earlier though, there have not been many of them. A few years ago I went to a Halloween party as Jason Vorhees. Another friend held an 80’s themed party and naturally, I attended as Indiana Jones. The most recent costume party I’ve been to; a ‘B’ themed celebration last year, however, brought me to my creative knees as I couldn’t find the one outfit I wanted to wear – Boba Fett. I searched high and low for a costume to hire but the only offering that came close was the likeness of his son, Jango.

With a sunken heart I floundered as the time constraint blurred my creative capacity to uselessness. In the end I went as a Beach Bum and while the night was a great success overall, I was still disheartened by my fancy-dress failure.

Not this time! As Col. John “Hannibal” Smith said – “Give me a minute, I’m good. Give me an hour, I’m great. Give me six months, I’m unbeatable.”

Well I only have three weeks, but it’s currently proven to be more than enough time to get my act together on this one. Another “B” themed party and I’m going with a different idea this time. No more trawling websites and driving from one end of the city to the other in search of a costume. Instead, I’ve acquired a number of common household items and a few crafty bits and pieces and I’m already one third of my way to what I expect will be quite an impressive costume.

I won’t give anything away right now, but I’m secretly bursting with excitement about finishing this little project off. So I must return to the lab, much like Tony Stark and/or Dr Frankenstein. To create a masterpiece that will inspire awe and fear to all who gaze upon its countenance! Well, I’m really hoping it will inspire laughter and fun but who knows what will happen?!

What about you? Do you enjoy costume parties? Do you have any favourite fancy-dress memories?

23 responses to “Don The Outfit – Become The Legend.

  1. Pingback: Hey, Aren’t You… « Adventures and Insights

  2. thoughtsappear August 5, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    I love costume parties! I wish people threw more of them. Can’t wait to see your costume!

    • Christian Emmett August 6, 2011 at 9:03 am

      Costume parties are great, I’m really looking forward to this one. You only have to wait a little longer – the party’s tomorrow and I’ll be posting about it as soon as I get the chance!

  3. elizabethinnes July 31, 2011 at 9:42 am

    I love costume parties, bear in mind I’m a student but in my new house we have a spare wardrobe which has become ‘dress up wardrobe’, it’s like an Aladdin’s cave in there ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Blisstrack July 29, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    AWW! so so cute on that picture!!!!!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. laura_kate July 27, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    First, I would like to tell you that I stumbled on your blog today and have been reading different posts off and on all day. Thanks for all of the enjoyable reads.

    Costumes make everything better. I mean being me is awesome, but when I can be me while pretending to be someone else makes my imagination go wild!!! In the last few years I have experienced being Lady Arwen to the Mad Hatter to Lady Guinevere. But the possibilities are endless. I wish you luck!

    • Christian Emmett July 27, 2011 at 1:14 pm

      Thank you for browsing my blog, I’m always pleased to know that others are finding enjoyment here. ๐Ÿ™‚

      You’re definitely right about costumes – they do bring imaginations to life. Thanks for the good wishes, I send you the same in return!

  6. littlemissmarika July 27, 2011 at 6:16 am

    I went to a fancy dress party this weekend and it was awesome. Somehow when you dress up as someone other than yourself you have a stronger sense of confidence (it’s probably that and a mixture of alcohol…lol). I went as sarah jessica parker from sex and the city…great fun hitting the town in a pink tutu! I’d highly reccomend it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Christian Emmett July 27, 2011 at 9:17 am

      I’ll pass on the tutu – for now. You’re right though, there is something about dressing up as someone else that brings a greater confidence.

      Thanks for stopping by; I bet you were a hit on the weekend!

  7. faithandstagefright July 26, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    LOVE costume parties! Good to know I’m not the only one. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Christian Emmett July 26, 2011 at 3:56 pm

      I got so excited about it last week that I had trouble sleeping through the nights. I’m still very eager to get everything done and to show off the finished product. I just hope it ends up the way I envision. Either way, there will be a post about how things went.

      Thanks for reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. hissimplelook July 26, 2011 at 9:38 am

    So fun!

  9. Chase McFadden July 26, 2011 at 12:24 am

    Never been to a lot of costume parties, but I’m with you in the sense that the thought of one gets my mind racing with ideas, usually not feasible, usually inappropriate.

    Something I know you’d appreciate: yesterday, Slim was racing around here in a Batman costume with a Thor cape and a tin garbage lid as a Captain America shield. Total superhero mash up.

    • Christian Emmett July 26, 2011 at 8:28 am

      Chase – Your kids are awesome! That is one spectacular mashup; well done Slim!

      Mate, I want to hold a costume party and invite you – I’ll make the theme “unfeasible and/or inappropriate”. There needs to be a place for those ideas to flourish. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. The Edmonton Tourist July 25, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    This would be the perfect oppourtunity to dress up like Dr. Jones! However, I have a sneaking suspicion that you likely dress up like Indy everyday so it wouldn’t be appropriate for a costume party. You need to provide pics ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Christian Emmett July 26, 2011 at 8:17 am

      It would be great if I could, but I’m struggling to link Indy to the ‘B’ theme. At least this way I do change it up, I think people would get tired of seeing me dressed up as Indy all the time!

      Pics will definitely be up ASAP. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

