Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

The Man Of Steele – Another Anniversary Already?

It’s not a typo. If you came here to read about Superman you might be sorely disappointed. You may not – here’s a link to this Superman Super Site, may you find all the Man of Steel you can handle!

For those who are still with me, it’s time for another birthday post! (and another Sunday post; this is becoming a habit!)

Photo by Jessica Diamond @ Flickr (Creative Commons)

Today celebrates another year passing since the birth of one of my very best friends. This post will no doubt come as a surprise to him; but he certainly deserves recognition. I hate to get all cliché – so I won’t. Let’s get straight into it. There’s not a lot to say about The Man Of Steele and yet at the same time, there so much to say. No doubt he’s frowning right now and wishes that I didn’t have a need to write at least another 354 words. I’ve got bad news for you buddy – I think I’m going to overshoot my 500 word minimum by a reasonable margin.

As a man of unquestionable honour and unshakeable resolve, The Man Of Steele possesses many traits that I wish I could replicate. He lives a life of dedication to his friends and family and the simple pleasures. He has no superficial or extravagant desires; believing instead that life is a simple thing, to be treated sensibly for the most part and therefore minimising stress for everyone. Much like Superman himself, time and distance have little meaning to him and he would drop everything in an instant to lend those he cares about whatever help he can.

Putting others before himself comes as second nature to The Man Of Steele. Often he sees those close to him through rose-coloured glasses, but not that crazy shade of rose that makes everything hazy. You know what I mean. Like all great friends I suppose, he sees strengths in others that they sometimes overlook or ignore completely. He’s never short of an encouraging word or some sound and useful advice and he’s rarely adverse to administering a *metaphorical* smack in the mouth if it is ever needed.

He never takes the spotlight and is a reluctant recipient of praise – so this post in itself is walking a dangerous line. However, The Man Of Steele deserves far more credit than he ever gets, so I’m taking this opportunity to lay it on thick!

He is generous to a fault, but is also ready to offer sensible support and this is something for which I will always be grateful. There have been times in my own life where he has helped me by giving me the tools I have needed to work my way out of a situation with my own two hands. Having said that; he is never far from the fun either! The Man Of Steele knows when to take advantage of an opportunity for having some fun. Over the years we’ve known each other (which is coming up on two decades now) we have never been short on laughter.

I’m going to go back on my initial statement (the one about being cliché, not the one about not writing about Superman) to wrap up this post tonight.

In our lives we’re blessed with few good friends and even fewer great ones. To be able to say that I can count The Man Of Steele amongst my very best friends is a true honour. I hope that each of you has at least one person like this blessing your life.

Happy Birthday mate. Wishing you all the very best in life – you deserve it.

6 responses to “The Man Of Steele – Another Anniversary Already?

  1. Pingback: The Dead Rise! (For A Good Cause) «

  2. thoughtsappear July 15, 2011 at 12:12 am

    A great post for you friend!

  3. bearyweather July 12, 2011 at 11:30 pm

    Even the most humble and modest person needs a cheerleader on their side from time to time … this post was a great “cheer” for your friend, I am sure it made his birthday special.

  4. Freda July 11, 2011 at 1:38 am

    The Man of Steele was tough, but a compassionate character. Hence the icon status attributed to him. . . Happy B-Day, Kah-El

  5. Megan July 10, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    Yeah Happy Day Mr Steele 😀

  6. Jason Emmett July 10, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    Happy Birth Anniversary Man of Steele!

Leave a Reply

