Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

Note To Self

I don’t know many people who wouldn’t make use of a time machine if granted the opportunity. Depending on your opinions about time, space and all things cosmic and whether you saw that particular episode of The Simpsons or not, this subject may even be moot for you. Today though, I’m not engaging in discussion about time travel (technically). I’m swapping my Geek cap for an aura of contemplation.

While I may not have access to machinery capable of generating 1.21 gigawatts of electricity, I’m going to indulge the fantasy of being able to provide my younger self with some advice from my older, marginally wiser self. Given the chance, here are a few things I’d like to say to myself before leaving high school.

  • Trust yourself. You know yourself better than anyone else; have faith in that.
  • You will fail sometimes – Just like everyone else. Draw strength from your falls and learn from your mistakes; they are what makes you unique.
  • Do not let the failures (or the fear of failing) drive your decisions.
  • Focus on the positives. There are always positives – even if they’re only memories. Make them count.
  • Be assertive. Refer to the first point.
  • Stay in Japan a little while longer. Just give it three more months; you may never get back there.
  • It’s ok to be a little unusual. I know you want everyone to like you, but you need to hold onto who you are. There is absolutely nothing wrong with you.
  • Register the domain name www.facebook.com. It will be interesting to see how things turn out.
  • Never compromise your morals. This will make more sense on a particular occasion. Don’t back down.
  • Read more.
  • Maintain your sense of humor.
  • Eat more fruit and veg.
  • Get outside a little more often – with friends if you can. Just get some fresh air; you don’t have to get hyperactive. Lay around in the park or something.
  • Do one thing every year that terrifies you. Set your goals realistically.
  • Know that the important people in your life DO listen to you.
  • Think a little longer before getting your first tattoo. The second one though; well done. 🙂

Of course it would be nice to sit down with myself and (without giving too much away) just tell myself the important things about how to approach life. Family and friends are always the most important thing. Our decisions lead us in different directions and it’s never too late to make a change or take a chance. Like most people, there is an awful lot I’d tell myself if I was able to. I don’t suppose any of you have a spare flux capacitor lying around, do you?

6 responses to “Note To Self

  1. bearyweather June 27, 2011 at 4:24 am

    Hindsight … something we have to learn to live with and hopefully learn from. This makes me think of the song “Letter to Me” by Brad Paisley.
    Check it out here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RQ3bn7V0zdU

  2. Fred June 24, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    If I could go back, I wonder if I would have done things differently , or just the same.
    Or if things would have turned out the same anyway.
    Well, I made some great friends in high school, so I did something right regardless 🙂

    • Christian Emmett June 26, 2011 at 5:35 pm

      It’s always interesting to think about whether we’d end up in a similar position if we’d done things differently. You’d think that we wouldn’t, but who’s to say really? Still, you and I both did our fair share of excellent decision-making I believe.

      🙂

  3. educlaytion June 22, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    Love time travel as much as thinking about the things I’d say to my former self. Mostly I’d just slap him in the head then hug him a lot.

Leave a Reply

