Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

Wanted: Certificate Of Humorocity

Image courtesy of Sifu Renka @ Flickr.com

Ok, so this is my 100th blog post and I’m stuck for ideas. I don’t really want to fall back on the old “analysis of blog stats” topic for this one since that’s kind of a staple for many bloggers. Currently my blog stats pretty much boil down to a few simple truths:

  1. Nerds and geeks find my blog when they Google “The Lord of The Rings” thanks to a blog post about that topic which includes a pretty cool picture of The One Ring;
  2. Indiana Jones fans find my blog when they Google “Indiana Jones Hat and Whip” for precisely the same reason as the nerds and geeks do;
  3. Turks find my blog when they Google “kizgin bebek” or “sinirli bebek” (I’d like to believe those phrases mean “awesome blog”, but I’m pretty sure they mean “angry baby”. I learned Japanese at school, not Turkish).

It’s nice to know that I’m at least mildly popular in Turkey – those two phrases led to my site on 19 occasions.

The more in-depth statistical analysis will come along soon enough and I’m sure we will all be excited by the findings. Some of us (mainly myself, but I won’t discount the possibility that some of you also) will be VERY excited. For now though, let’s carry on. I could get all Academy Awards on you and thank you all for reading, commenting and contributing in your own ways but really, I could continue to write even if no-one reads or comments so technically I don’t have to thank anyone. Truth be told though, I AM extremely grateful that you all do read and comment and contribute because even though I may appear outwardly nonchalant, it breaks my heart to think that I could be writing a blog that no-one at all reads.

And as I’ve hoped to write a post that would give you all a big laugh as a celebration of my 100th post, it occurred to me that I might not actually be that funny. A wave of panic washed over me as I found myself struggling for ideas I could turn into a solid post. Sure, I could have written fart jokes, but I’m not sure I want to set the bar of my blog that high just yet. I need more time to work on my comedic skills. The Cyberwebs suggested that I could also write about “alternative swear-words” but I really only use “mother-of-pearl” when I’m feeling particularly frustrated. I’m not sure exactly where to go after I’ve let that one out of the cage; I usually black out and wake up three hours later with no memory of what happened while I was “away”.

Instead I’m just going to treat it as though it were another blog post. Because it is. One more post in a currently small bundle, but another step into the future of this blog and in the direction I intend to travel. Over the course of writing these posts I’ve lost inspiration and been overloaded by it. I’ve been proud of posts that have statistically floundered and have wondered why a post I’ve thought was a mess was so popular. But I’d really like to figure out once and for all whether I do possess a sense of humour that translates here. Maybe even get someone to make me a certificate that I can frame and put in my den…

13 responses to “Wanted: Certificate Of Humorocity

  1. Freda June 16, 2011 at 12:13 am

    100 already? Sure didn’t feel like 100 : so congrats!!
    Yr. blogs R great reading especially D funny ones S they help me laugh after a long stressful day that sometimes entail dealing with peeps who just *beep*
    Cheers!

    • Christian Emmett June 16, 2011 at 7:52 am

      I know, even with all my procrastination, 100 came around really quickly! Thanks for reading Fred and for your support. I’m glad I can give you a laugh every now and then. 🙂

  2. educlaytion June 15, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    I saw the title and immediately thought of the Wizard of Oz. I feel like the man behind the curtain should present you with a certificate of humoricity. Way to make 100.

  3. The Edmonton Tourist June 15, 2011 at 11:27 pm

    Congratulations! I think it’s time to learn Turkish. Do you think I can find the Rosa-whatever learn a new language on limewire?

  4. bearyweather June 15, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    When I hit 100 posts, I thought it should be something really special, too. I struggled with it for days .. what to write to mark the milestone? I started blogging on a whim and never even considered 100 posts. So, I did the most creative thing a mathematician could do … sung the praises of the number 100. 🙂
    Congratulations!

  5. Chase McFadden June 15, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    I’d go with the fart jokes, Christian. Here’s to a 100 more.

  6. Cassy Hannah June 15, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    Hey Christian,
    Congrats on your 100th blog or whatever the terminology happens to be. It has been great journeying with you, albeit in a slightly stalkerish way 🙂

    Looking forward to hearing more of what goes on in that head of yours!

    Cassy

Leave a Reply

