Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

I Need Your (Musical) Help

I wrote a post yesterday and have decided that it will never be published. It was a very vague explanation of my absence from the blogoshpere with no real information; just a whole lot of confusing analogies that only served to make things worse. So I decided this morning to start afresh.

Long story short – my blogging is returning to its formerly glorious priority status. The whys and wherefores are not going to be discussed or even alluded to.

I created this blog to write (naturally). I didn’t come here to be maudlin or overly philosophical. I wanted to write about my adventures in life – both physical and mental. To share the experiences of this particular body and mind with the desire to improve my writing and hopefully make a few people laugh. If wisdom adds her two cents to the mix, all the better. The heart of the blog is fun and that’s the way I intend to keep it.

My difficulty now is that I need music. New music, old music, I’m not really particular at this stage. My music collection is not necessarily meagre but I’ve found my finger pressing the “next track” button all too frequently lately.

The only thing I’m looking for in the music is that it helps keep my spirits up. Too much of my music is associated with memories that aren’t really condusive to the kind of blogging that I want to maintain here. I’ve been looking for new music and am always open to suggestions and naturally, I would appreciate any recommendations you can offer.

If you ever did before, you can once again look forward to more posts from this particular blogger. Again, thank you to all of you who have taken the time to read my blog; I am truly in the company of some fantastic writers and people.

Here’s some thinking music:

21 responses to “I Need Your (Musical) Help

  1. Katie Mitchell August 30, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    I have been meaning to give you a list of stuff for years!!!

    Romantic-ish;
    Sister Hazel – Listen to ‘your winter”
    Edwin McCain – I’ll be

    Soul Train;
    Gladys Knight and the Pips
    The temptations and the four tops
    Marvin Gaye with Diana Ross – You Are Everything (try and get passed the talking and swooning thing coz the song itself is beautiful and sung with emotion.

    Kate Bush/Placebo – running up that hill
    Trent Reznor(Nine Inch Nails)/Johnny Cash – Hurt
    Bruce Springsteen – Radio nowhere (or all of the Born in the USA album)
    Alicia Keys – Try sleeping with a broken heart
    Howie Day – Collide
    Everything by David Gray!! If you don’t know where to start then start with the album ‘White Ladder’
    Jack’s Mannequin – The resolution
    The Cruel sea – ‘A simple goodbye’ and ‘it wont last’
    Filter- Take a picture
    Arrested Development – best of cd for when you need a lift!
    Imogen Heap – Hide and Seek
    Frou Frou – Let go
    Buena Vista Social club – Chan Chan
    Damien Rice – The blowers Daughter
    Elan – Leave me
    Eva Cassidy
    Goo Goo Dolls- Acoustic no 3 and Better Days
    Jeff Martin – I love you

    A little left of centre;

    Fear Factory – Timelessness
    Blue October with Imogen Heap- Congratulations
    Kanye West – All falls down or Runaway
    Dixie Chicks- Top of the World and Godspeed
    2Pac- Thugs Mansion , Changes, and Until The End Of Time
    System of a down- BYOB

    Will add more when I find some time – hope this helps even if it is months later. Have missed talking to you – I am just crap at communication right now though

    Katie

    • Christian Emmett August 30, 2011 at 9:31 pm

      Thanks for this Katie, I’ll check these out. It all helps, no matter how much time passes. That’s the good thing about music – and any kind of communication really.

      Take care and thanks again for getting in touch and giving me these great suggestions! 🙂

  2. Blisstrack August 20, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    http://www.swingen4.com/

    Ok, so maybe I’m being a little bit nationalistic…. But you HAVE to listen to this guys… Its so my type of music… absolutely adore them….. so you follow the link, go to audio and you can hear some of their songs there… And you know… 100% costarricans 😀

  3. bearyweather June 16, 2011 at 3:02 am

    The best I can do is suggest that you try out Pandora.com (free internet radio with a twist). You just type in an artist you like and they create a playlist of similar music you may or may not heard of before. Try it out … I am finding a lot of new music with it.

  4. therosebandit June 10, 2011 at 1:13 am

    Fleet foxes, Dispatch (they are disbanded but anything of theirs is quality), The Muse, band of horses, Guster….those are just a few. NOW, I know its a day late but this is my favorite of the moment: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AlVeuDXB82I

  5. b1 June 9, 2011 at 8:35 am

    There are a few bands that I listen to that I think ‘the big fella would like this’. I will list those and happily pop them in my Dropbox so you can have a listen. I will also list what I am currently digging:

    The ‘stuff-what-he-might-like’ pile:
    + Blueline Medic – the best Australia band
    + A Death in the Family – second best Australian band 😉
    + Frank Turner – English folk/rock
    + Lagrecia – How AC/DC should sound (did I just say that?)
    + Tim Barry – US folk, I think you will really dig his life story songs

    The ‘stuff-what-I-dig’ pile:
    + Protest the Hero – tech metal
    + Against Me! – Anything but White Crosses. Just saw them for like the fifth or sixth time and they are hands down one of the best live bands I have ever seen
    + None More Black – they just rock

    The comedy pile – bored at work? Listen to this:
    + Mitch Hedberg – US, dead, but very, very funny
    + The Ricky Gervais Podcasts – I have every single one, including all his radio shows. Gets me through shit times!

    So yeah, sign up for Dropbox using this code http://db.tt/YhF4j2g, let me know and I wlll share them with you 🙂

  6. Freda June 8, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    Peter White, Fourplay, David Sanborn for some instrumental jazz;
    any of the Glee covers or other peoples;
    and of course boy bands (=shudder=) like the NKOTBSB (LOL)

  7. Jason Emmett June 8, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    Welcome back Little Wolf Brother!

    • Jason Emmett June 8, 2011 at 8:39 pm

      Candy by Iggy Pop & Kate Pearson!!!!
      Oh! Hark!, or Neopolitan Dreams, by Lisa Mitchell
      Don’t Stop by Gin Wigmore
      Bruises by Chairlift
      Valerie by Amy Winehouse
      Supermodel by Jill Sobule
      Don’t Upset the Rhythm (Go Baby Go) by Noisettes
      Dreams by The Cranberries
      I Gotta Feeling by The Black Eyed Peas
      When I Come Around by Green Day (remember the drive back from Nola’s wedding when we just listened to Dookie over and over for the whole trip!?)

      and of course…We Built This City (On Rock and Roll) by Starship

    • OpentoAdventure June 9, 2011 at 10:24 pm

      Thanks Big Wolf Brother, I’ve already got a few of the tunes you’ve mentioned but will expand my repertoire to include more. 🙂

  8. Bindy June 8, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    Polyphonic Spree

  9. Lou June 8, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    Welcome back Mr OTA. Glad you’re back. I really enjoy your blogs keep it up it’s a part of you know, actually write a book. :).

    Some songs – try Newton Faulkner, not everyones cup of tea but some of his songs are just plan fun. One “gone in the morning”. Is about dreams you have at night. The beat is very uplifting. Actually I love his entire collection. Just a thought 🙂 xo

  10. The Edmonton Tourist June 8, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    Hey! I fell off my chair when your blog popped up in my inbox! Glad to see you back 😀
    My 15 year old son loves Cellolitis. I love Kings of Leon and have a real love affair with Pete Yorn and Scarlett Johanson right now. I love Relator. Burno Mars is a fav too. But those are chick sounds 😉

  11. Tasha June 8, 2011 at 11:18 am

    Welcome back :)!!
    I only have one suggestion …. Sister Hazel. They always seem to have a song for any mood, but I may be biased cos I have all their albums lol 😛

Leave a Reply

