Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

All The Right Mov(i)es

Ok, so Clay at EduClaytion is a man everyone can admire. Go on, admire him. He has his own website and he’s a teacher of things – and stuff. Like history and politics and all sorts. I’ve been reading his blog for a while now and have learned a few things about America, history and Pittsburgh in particular. Things that have since fallen to the back of my mind, but I can honestly say it’s always fun reading.

Anyway, check out his page if you don’t know about him already. He is a man among men; a gentleman and a scholar. I don’t know how he fits it all in.

“Why are you barking on about Clay?” I hear you ask. Well my friends, it’s because he has punched me in the frontal lobe with his latest post and now I’m thinking about how we all determine favourite things. In this case I’m going to focus on movies. And how I choose them. Brace yourselves; what follows is absolute madness – a stroll down the everyday madness that is my mind at work!

I’ve always been a big fan of movies and whenever I’m asked to name my favourite movie I generally go into spasms.

We all select our favourite things in our own way. Obviously though, our favourite things adhere to some kind of rules set by our individual minds. When it comes to movies, I have trouble selecting just one movie that is my ultimate favourite and there are many reasons for that.

Most of my favourite movies are ones I enjoy. That makes sense, doesn’t it? Of course it does. If we don’t enjoy our favourite movies (or things), how can they be favourites?! But I enjoy them for different reasons. I’ve never been one to identify deep aspects of movies or technical magnificence. I’ve never enjoyed a movie solely for its historical accuracy or its coherent developoment of characters.

What makes movies favourites for me varies depending on the movie. Raiders of The Lost Ark, for example is a favourite of mine because I’ve seen in Indiana Jones the kind of person I would love to be. A daring adventurer, trekking across the globe in search of treasures to share with the World; possessing knowledge and confidence and always doing the right thing (in the end).

All the Indiana Jones movies (except for the last one) were exciting to watch because I really enjoyed seeing him get into and out of danger while fighting bad guys and triumphing once all was said and done. Having said that though, I wouldn’t say that all movies with similar plotlines would be favourites of mine.

Other favourite movies of mine include:

  • The Princess Bride – Loved the characters and the humor. I enjoyed all the characters and while it wasn’t a terribly complex story; it was plenty of fun!
  • The Matrix – Loved the special effects. Didn’t really relate to the characters and never got into the whole theological aspect myself but I respect it. I had a roommate who liked the movie so much he broke the arms off his sunglasses to be more like Morpheus. They kept falling off his face.
  • Amelie – Just a great story, I thoroughly enjoyed the quirkiness of it and I found all the characters endearing.
  • Leon: The Professional – I absolutely loved this story for the characters. The ending also makes the movie a favourite of mine.
  • Blade Runner – Quality cyberpunk based on a Philip K. Dick novel, this movie made me think in addition to being a good action/drama
  • Happy Gilmore & Zoolander – Just plain hilarious movies!

I could easily list many more movies and cite many different reasons why I put them amongst my favourites. Aliens, The Bourne Identity, Gone In 60 Seconds, Stardust, The Lord of the Rings Trilogy and many more!

It’s hard for me to clearly delineate my favourite movie – even my top ten.

Do you have a sure-fire method of selecting your favourite movies or things?

4 responses to “All The Right Mov(i)es

  1. tinkerbelle86 March 13, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    i love raiders of the lost ark!

  2. educlaytion March 11, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    You are the man. No one from Australia has ever said such nice things about me. With your permission, I think I need to take the opening paragraphs of this post and use them forever against my critics! Seriously though, I really appreciate the kind thoughts.

    Speaking of your frontal lobe, I wonder if we shared the same one of those at some point because your list of great movies holds some gems dear to my heart. I have not seen Amelie though and will very soon just based on your say so.

    • OpentoAdventure March 11, 2011 at 2:59 pm

      Haha, thanks Clay. You’re a great guy, of that there will never be any doubt. Feel free to wave the opening paragraphs in anyone’s face whenever you feel the need.

      Do check out Amelie, it’s a great little flick.

Leave a Reply

