Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

Sister, It’s Your Birthday; Happy Birthday Sister!

January 18th. A day celebrated in my family as it marks the birth of my little sister.

I am so incredibly fortunate to be in the midst of such amazing siblings. I’ve already mentioned my Wolf Brother in previous posts but that doesn’t at all mean that my Super Sister is any less significant in my life.

Today I want to wish her another insanely Happy Birthday and to let her know how much she has meant to me.

I live too far away from Super Sister to be able to visit her, her husband and their three spectacular children on a very regular basis but they are always in my thoughts.

Other people were born on this day (I know it’s hard to believe but I googled it and there are a few) but of all them Super Sister is the one who has had the greatest influence in my life. Yes, she has influenced my life even more than American rapper DJ Quik and Joseph Glidden, the American farmer who patented barbed wire.

Thanks to me, Super Sister has been involved in some very hairy situations and she has never given me grief. Well, except for that one time when she planted her foot in my crotch, but we all know I deserved that. Instead, she has still stuck by me, always ready to assist me with whatever hair-brained activity I was getting up to in whatever way she could.

Being terrorised by a toucan for Twisties would usually be enough to give a toddler a complex lasting well into their 80s. Super Sister, however, still has an appreciation for animals and a respect for all living beings. Having said that, she will not tolerate fools. I love that about her.

She’s travelled overseas and interstate and has found her place. In her husband she has found her perfect match and together they have created a life and family that I love with all my heart. I hope that one day I might replicate that with GE. Their three kids are absolute blessings and are a tribute to the wonderful people their parents are.

On this day quite a few years ago, a miraculous soul was delivered to our family. Her heart is open and warm and her mind is expansive and sharp. What a fantastic thing it is to be her brother.

She’s my little sister, my Super Sister. Happy Birthday to you, may your life be full of so many more.

2 responses to “Sister, It’s Your Birthday; Happy Birthday Sister!

  1. therosebandit January 21, 2011 at 11:09 pm

    Awww look at you being all “Brother of the Year”! love it pal!

Leave a Reply

