Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

Hello. My Name Is Inigo Montoya. (It’s Not Really.)

In the spirit of my own belief that every day is an opportunity to make resolutions, I’m not going to harp on about last year and this year and all the things I did and want to do. Instead, I’m just going to live my life and see where this white water raft takes me. It’s so much more fun now that I’m sharing the raft! Got your life-vest and helmet fastened securely, GE? Tres bien!

I’ve been slack over the past week and the next few days are going to pass sans-blogs as well. I sincerely apologise to my dedicated readers – I’m off camping you see; adventuring on dingo-infested (well, not infested but they’ll be there) Fraser Island and there’s not going to be any internet connectivity while I’m away.

But I will continue to post and 2011 is going to be a great year all round. I hope you all have a great year and that 2011 leads a string of years that fill the rest of your lives with fun, laughter, love and adventure.

I’ve been doing what I can to catch up on my subscriptions and it has been great to read what everyone’s been up to over the break. We don’t always realise how interesting our own lives are as we barrel through each day. Reading a few of these blogs inspired quite a bit of randomness for today’s post.

I’ve never regretted my life and I’ve never REALLY wished I was someone else. However, there have been times when I’ve pretended for the sake of a good story.

As a very active youth and a reasonably active adult I’ve often stared injury in the face and taken a big bite out of his leg. On occasion I’ve been asked about the story of some of my scars and there have been times when the response I’ve given hasn’t strictly been polygraph resistant.

I have a scar on my back which is sometimes visible when I go swimming. When asked about it I’ve quite seriously looked the enquirer in the eye and solemnly informed them that it’s a memento of my cage-fighting days in the seedy underbelly of Borneo.

I was taken prisoner by a gangland chief who was jealous of my blonde hair and I fought in the cages there for a year before winning my freedom in an elaborate escape involving fourteen pigmy monkeys and a bag of liquorice. It turns out I have a bit of a knack for terror-driven survival fighting. Over fifty fights and only one real wound.

That’s not true though. I know it’s extremely believable but the real story is much less exciting. Let me just say this – don’t ever let your kids sit in the bath right under the tap. If they jump up quickly, they might not like what happens next.

I have some other scars that I like to make up interesting stories about as well but I’ve not always limited myself to small details. There are other times when I’ve felt like changing just a detail about myself for a short while.

There was a period of time when I used to be known as Zeus at my local Boost Juice. It’s been funny seeing how some of the staff respond when you look them square in the eye and mention that you share the name of the Greek God of Thunder.

"I'd like a regular-sized Brekkie-To-Go-Go please. My name? Zeus."

I thoroughly enjoy being me. If I wasn’t me, I wouldn’t know all the wonderful people that I know (including all of you!). I wouldn’t be here writing this right now. Maybe someone else would be. I wonder what they’d be writing about… Probably something boring about stocks or politics.

Happy New Year everyone!

10 responses to “Hello. My Name Is Inigo Montoya. (It’s Not Really.)

  1. marinasleeps January 5, 2011 at 5:33 am

    I love the Princess Bride!!!

  2. educlaytion January 5, 2011 at 3:23 am

    Alter egos and false identities are a must. Pure fun if nothing else. I’ve been a professional volleyball player and a musician named Moonsauce Washington among others. If you have friends to play along then being around strangers, especially out of town, becomes a real blast!

  3. therosebandit January 5, 2011 at 12:09 am

    I find it so refreshing how truly you embrace yourself. Your randomness is noted but not without logic or reason! How was your camping trip? Anything exciting happen?

    CatMan

    • OpentoAdventure January 11, 2011 at 9:52 am

      Thanks CatMan, I know I can be odd at times but I like to think it makes me a little more personable. 🙂

      As for the camping trip – well it was certainly an adventure! Expect a post or two about the craziness!

  4. The Edmonton Tourist January 4, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    Happy New Year Oracle! Unrelated comment- except the title of your blog reminded me… The Princess Bride, BEST BOOK EVER!!! Well best humorus book. I loved the movie but the book was a GAZILLON times better… Just saying. If a dingo gets ya, please tell GE or Fred to let us know 🙂

    • OpentoAdventure January 4, 2011 at 1:00 pm

      Thanks ET, Happy New Year to you too!

      The book is great, and I do love the movie; I’m sure there will be references scattered throughout posts yet to come.

      Hahaha, I will get someone to inform you all of my unfortunate dingo-related demise – GE’s coming with us but I’ll make sure that she at least makes it back alive!

      🙂

  5. astrosodi January 4, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    Wolf brother—I remember those cage fights well. Although I couldn’t intervene and expose our true identities, my money was always on you.

Leave a Reply

