Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

How Did You Find Me?

While I’ve been open to adventure pretty much my entire life, I’ve only been blogging about it for the past four months or so. I have no burning desire to be a famous blogger (although if I was to become popular I wouldn’t be unhappy) and my writing style isn’t textbook so I know it doesn’t appeal to everyone.

Still, I take an interest in those who do read my blog and how some people find me in the massive online universe. I have a few cherished regulars whose blogs I adore and I’m always looking around to see who else is out there. Today’s post is dedicated to those who find my blog with a little help from Google.

Ah, Google. Our friend, our foe, our source of joy, sadness and confusion. Depending on the weather, Google can give us everything we want or nothing we need. For the most part, Google has been pretty bland as far as search terms that have led to my blog, but there have been a few standouts.

For the most part, readers have found me by searching for two main things: Indiana Jones and The Lord of The Rings.

I think those who stumbled upon my Life Lessons – Courtesy of Indiana Jones post were pleasantly surprised. I’m pretty pleased with that one, there’s a lot to be learned from Indiana Jones.

Those who stumbled upon my post relating to The Lord of The Rings though; they probably walked away scratching their heads. I expect that wasn’t exactly what they were looking for.

Besides those top two searches, people were also directed to my blog when they searched for information about chilis. One person even found me using the term “evil chili peppers”. Fair enough I suppose, but I don’t blame the chilis. I am a little surprised though that Google didn’t send me people who were looking for “Red Hot Chili Peppers”.

I was also a target for those looking for wallpaper. Whether it was for their home or their PC I can’t be sure, but people look for some strange wallpaper. Some examples were:

  • Planet Earth space wallpaper
  • Love Peace Happiness wallpaper
  • Wallpaper food funny

By far my favourite wallpaper search was “I never meant to hurt you wallpaper”. Is this the way to say sorry to people now? Send them an apologetic wallpaper? Or is it just an emotional plea from someone who has upset their wallpaper by removing it? Are they hoping to ease the pain by sending a message into cyberspace? Will their wallpaper know who it is from?

From here on in, the search terms just get better.

Mitsubishi adventure smoke belching” – This search conjures up images of a group of university students parked in a brightly painted van somewhere, laughing hazily through the smoke of a “medicinal substance”… I know my blog requires a certain shift in mental perception but this wasn’t really what I was aiming for.

I hate taxes but I like roads” – I couldn’t agree with you more, e-browser. Although how this search led you to my blog I’ll never understand. My blog is neither about taxes nor roads. Hopefully you found something a little more interesting to read about here!

Crazy Irish fireman” – Indeed. I’m not sure what to say about this one, although I hope you found him. He must have been fun crazy though, otherwise why would you be looking for him? At any rate, you found my blog. Unfortunately I’m not a crazy Irish fireman. How sure are we all about that though?

These are just a few of the many searches that have brought readers in my direction. I’m thankful for all the eyes that are cast over my posts and even more grateful to those who decide that they are interested enough to come back and/or comment.

6 responses to “How Did You Find Me?

  1. therosebandit December 21, 2010 at 1:42 am

    Google or YouTube–sigh…with those two terms anything is possible! 🙂

  2. bearyweather December 17, 2010 at 9:08 am

    I think you found me … not sure how you did that.
    You did make me check my search term list … searches that brought people to my site the most in the 3 months are not even predictable #1 was “band aid”? #2 was “silent” the strangest one way down on the list (and only once) “dark snake” …. I don’t recall every even typing the word snake in any post I have ever written … I hate snakes. Very strange.

    • OpentoAdventure December 17, 2010 at 11:07 am

      I found you via Girl on the Contrary I believe; I think I found most of the blogs I read through her.

      Those are definitely some strange searches that have led to your blog, I love it the most when people search for words that you haven’t even used!

      You know who else hates snakes? Indiana Jones. 😉

  3. marinasleeps December 17, 2010 at 6:34 am

    I trip out on Google. Google will make anything happen. Including Crazy Irish Fireman.

Leave a Reply

