Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

Happy Birthday, Wolf Brother.

Today is the anniversary of my brother’s birth. A soul charged (some would say burdened, but I’m not here to nit-pick) with a margin of responsibility for the safety and development of this blogger.

I’d like to take a moment to give back to the man who, as one of the people I look up to, has given me so very much over the years. A wonderful brother who always had a watchful eye out for me and has pretty much always been there to help me through the rough times. He took his job seriously, and looking back now I can see that he only ever had my best interests at heart.

So where do you begin celebrating a person like my brother? Well it’s pretty easy; he’s an absolutely awesome individual with knowledge spanning almost every sphere of interest. He’s engaging, intelligent, funny and has been very successful in his life. He’s travelled the globe and had adventures that I would love to relive in my own style someday.

He’s bold, decisive and uncompromising in the best possible way and he gives the best (if somewhat direct and sometimes scary) advice you could ever ask for. Life hasn’t been sunshine and lollipops for him but he’s risen to every challenge and has come through in the end. His strength of character is an absolute inspiration.

His methods may have sometimes been questionable, but the results speak for themselves. Thanks to him, I’ve learned a few very important lessons about life; some of which I have already written about in earlier posts. If you’d like to know (or reminisce about) how he taught me about the importance of toddler upper body strength, the importance of safety checks before performing and/or nature’s warning signs, feel free to follow any of those links.

Because even if it doesn’t seem like it at the time, my brother has a strong sense of ensuring growth and development in others. After thirty-odd years of being able to do at least one chin-up, a current record of zero broken bones and only one subsequent food incident, I have to congratulate my brother. He really knows how to get through to people.

For every embarrassing situation though, there is a caring countermeasure. My brother is an excellent judge of the best way to handle any given moment. He has often given me the encouragement I’ve needed to take charge and recover from life’s spills brilliantly. It’s a trait that I cherish in every member of my family.

I don’t say it enough, Wolf Brother, but I am so very glad to have you as part of my pack. I hope you had a very happy birthday today, here’s to the many great years ahead of you.

6 responses to “Happy Birthday, Wolf Brother.

  1. astrosodi December 16, 2010 at 9:44 am

    Thanks Little Wolf Brother 🙂
    Love Big Wolf Brother.

  2. mc6pack December 10, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    Great tribute to your brother. Sincere, well-written words always make a terrific gift. Well done.

  3. marinasleeps December 10, 2010 at 4:38 am

    Awww I feel the love!!
    Happy birthday Wolf brother!
    Cool name!

Leave a Reply

