Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

The Horror!

I’m not a big fan of horror movies. I never really understood the appeal of them. To sit down and purposely scare yourself was an idea that my mind could never really comprehend. Being one who likes to understand things though, I’ve made a number of solid attempts to “get it”.

My first experience was a reasonable one on my part. I think I was eight or nine and I stayed over at a friend of mine’s for the night. He’d rented out “Silver Bullet” on video and surprisingly, I wasn’t terribly scared. My friend, on the other hand, had the most unfortunate nightmares as a result. Maybe the effect on me was subconscious. I don’t remember watching another horror movie for a few years after that…

When I was 12 years old, one of my school friends had an overnight party. I had changed schools that year, I was growing into an awkward teenager and I really wanted to impress everyone. The party was going well and we were all having fun. Soon enough it was mentioned that we would be settling in to watch a movie. Being a fan of movies, this news pleased me greatly and I made myself comfortable and prepared myself to enjoy the show.

My pleasure turned to apprehension, however, when our hostess produced a copy of “House“. Not wanting to appear the coward, I sat through the initial plot setup and character introduction but once the action took a turn for the gruesome, I realised that my mother needed me at home. She lived up the road you see and I could hear her calling from the street. So I made my apologies, telling everyone how much I wished I could stay to enjoy this freaky flick, but I was needed at home. Despite the fact that no-one else could hear my mother shouting my name, I assured them that she definitely was and made my way home.

Another run-in I remember was a lazy afternoon on which my brother decided that he needed some visual entertainment. He headed down to the local video shop and returned not too long afterwards with a copy of “Creepshow 2“. There are a few things I remember about this movie:

  1. A haunted totem pole;
  2. A group of teenagers swimming across a lake to escape a pile of seaweed; and
  3. My sister (almost 2 years younger than me) enjoyed it.

I, on the other hand, spent the duration of the movie running between the living room and my bedroom. I honestly cannot remember ever seeing a horror movie in its entirety – and I think I come from the generation that REALLY loved horror movies. “A Nightmare on Elm St“, “Halloween“, “Friday the 13th” and all their dozens of sequels are films I know about but couldn’t discuss if you asked me to. I don’t remember having watched a horror movie from start to finish in the decade that encompassed my adolescence.

I know that some people enjoy horror movies. I can get that, but I don’t think I’ll ever understand why. Similarly though, I appreciate the fact that there is no right or wrong in this discussion. I am no movie connoisseur – I rented “Hudson Hawk” once and watched it ALL NIGHT LONG. I think I got about 10 or 11 viewings in back to back. It won three awards people! Razzies, yes; but awards nonetheless!

Do you enjoy horror movies? Do you have any favourites?

9 responses to “The Horror!

  1. Pingback: The A To Z (Approach To Zombocalypse) « Adventures and Insights

  2. bearyweather November 25, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    “The Wizard of Oz” with that scary witch and flying monkeys scared me to death when I was little, making me leave the room every time I heard the witches voice. To this day, I purposefully avoid all “scary” movies … they are not fun for me … I don’t want to be scared … scared makes me feel not well at all. And, the bloody, butchering psychopath movies don’t really scare me .. they just make me think “why would someone think this sick kind of thinking is entertaining?”. Give me a good mystery, love story or adventure any day .. horror movies are totally off my list of “fun”.
    Sometimes I wonder … if I would have stayed in the room and watched the scary parts of the Wizard of Oz … maybe my fear of horror movies would be less and I would enjoy them, now? … not!

  3. Tasha November 25, 2010 at 10:54 am

    Ok I have to admit I LOVE HORROR movies, I live to see them! I enjoy getting scared, makes me feel alive ;). Yes I even enjoy the corny ones like “Chucky” … got to love that little doll LOL!
    Guess we are all different, because I cant sit still in a drama or love story movie as most times they bore me to tears. Id pick Freddy Jason or Michael anyday over some love sick couple hehehe!!

    • OpentoAdventure November 25, 2010 at 11:10 am

      I’ll NEVER forget the scene where he severs that guy’s Achilles tendon. I have a few choice memories from horror flicks I’ve tried to sit through in my time, I’m glad you can enjoy them!

      🙂

  4. therosebandit November 25, 2010 at 4:04 am

    Don’t ever see Paranormal Activities 2–not good at all…actually not in the slightest bit scary. 🙂

    What genre of movies do you like or prefer to see?

    CatMan

    • OpentoAdventure November 25, 2010 at 8:31 am

      Thanks for the tip, I’ll steer clear of it. Ghost movies creep me out the most – even when there’s no gore.

      I’m a fairly stereotypical guy when it comes to movies. I like action, comedy, sci-fi and fantasy but am open to pretty much anything. I’ve seen a few flops in my time (most recently Skyline) but I’ll give most movies a chance.

  5. Carlie November 23, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    Hey Kin, I am with you all the way. Your brother has also tried to introduce me to the horror films however do not see the attraction to them. I am glad I am not the only one 🙂

    • OpentoAdventure November 24, 2010 at 9:30 am

      Hey Carlie! I know what you mean – I can appreciate some movies that contain gore and violence for the purpose of the storyline, but outright horror flicks do nothing for me whatsoever.

Leave a Reply

