Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

The Things We Do For Love

In Australia today, news was surprisingly slow. Or this one particular story was so amazing that it warranted almost a whole day of dedication from electronic media. You decide.

Olivia – Do You Remember Steve Tucker?

I’m all for romance. I love love and I will always urge anyone who asks to live their life with passion. Embrace the side of yourself that seeks love and the excitement that it brings. Everyone does it in their own way and my thoughts on life are that your way is exactly the same as someone else’s way. That’s how you find your special someone.

So anyway, Steve decided to bravely seek the assistance of colleagues both known and unknown to track down his mysterious Venus – aka Olivia. Naturally, there have been mixed responses to his endeavours. A Facebook support group was set up to help him make contact with the lady who had captured his heart and Twitter was lit up with comments. Twitter even went so far as to sport a #savesteve tag, which I found quite interesting. If that wasn’t enough, this particular story made the evening news as well.

I wonder if Steve was expecting that when he sent his email yesterday. Probably not.

This leads me to believe that for all those who travel the cynical path where love is concerned, there are many more who find Steve’s bravery inspiring. Whether their support for his cause has driven them to step up and take charge of their own direction I cannot really say but it is nice to know that we are not all desensitized to the possibility of taking a chance in life.

Now the poor guy seems to have failed in this particular instance, but that shouldn’t lead any of us to be disheartened by the action he took. Personally, I applaud him for taking action for something that he believed was worth his effort. The mere possibility of a wonderful relationship is something that is well worth concerted effort in this blogger’s books.

I know that romance isn’t a big deal for everyone. I’m not peddling any kind of idea that we should all go out and chase love down through a series of outlandish, extravagant or embarrassing activities. Just know what works for you and always remember your strengths.

We all do things in our own way. If it was me, I’d do it differently. Just between you and I, I DID do it a little differently and I’m currently thinking that my personal search may be over. But that’s a story for another time.

3 responses to “The Things We Do For Love

  1. Fred November 18, 2010 at 2:38 am

    Curiousity killed the cat but the early bird gets the word, I mean, worm 🙂 So I concur with The Edmonton Tourist, namely Is “another time” going to start in the next blog? Please? :-p

  2. OpentoAdventure November 17, 2010 at 8:22 am

    Hahaha, I don’t think it’s going to be a dating blog any time soon – She may come to her senses yet! Besides, I’m not very good at giving dating advice. 😉

    I’m kind of hoping though that this might become a blog that encompasses some of the adventures that she and I have together in the future, but rest assured I will still be blogging in my usual style regardless! 🙂

  3. The Edmonton Tourist November 17, 2010 at 12:08 am

    So is this going to be a dating blog now? I love those too. Better then soap operas. I get caught up in everyone elses dating life. Is “another time” going to start in the next blog? Please? 🙂

Leave a Reply

