Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility

I’m pretty sure I have a superpower. It’s a little bit scary and a little bit thrilling.

It seems that I have some kind of power over WordPress.

The strongest evidence of this comes from yesterday’s post. You’ll remember that it was about the fact that there aren’t many blogs about space and time travel and other such sciencey things. Did you also take a moment to check out today’s Freshly Pressed?

There it is, right there. WordPress bends to my will. A Freshly Pressed post from a science blog. About space and spacey things! Using a picture I also saw in the interwebz last night as I compiled my post about the lack of space blogs.

I am blognetic. Blogopathic? Extra-Blogarily Perceptive? All I know for sure is that it’s a psychic power.

Do you need more convincing? I don’t, but I’m nothing if not considerate of others, so how’s this for amazing supporting evidence? When I was talking to my Wonderful Friend (who I would think about referring to as my sidekick given that I’m a super hero now, but that denotes that one of us is better than the other and if either of us is better, it’s certainly her. So I’ll just stick with her current title – even though that doesn’t do her justice) and she inspired me to write my post about nightmares and dozefancies, I told her that it would be my most popular blog post ever. True story.

I know what you’re thinking  – “You’ve already said you’re a ninja. Honestly, Mr Greedy-Pants, super powers now? Where’s it going to end? You’ll be wanting your own talk show next!”

It’s ok, I don’t want my own talk show. And I didn’t choose either of these things. It just so happens that I’m naturally a super-silent, stealthy ninja who happens to have astonishing mind powers over WordPress. If I could change the facts then I’d think really hard about the possibility of maybe… But the die has been cast and as heavy a burden as it is to bear, I must carry it.

I’m not sure exactly how it works, it seems to be one of those superpowers that must be trained and practiced. So far my superpower has manifested itself spontaneously which is fair enough in that no-one’s been hurt. Now though begins the long, arduous road to harness the power and use it for good – unless, I suppose, the price is right. Because honestly, this superpower is pretty sweet. No-one gets hurt (physically at least, and I’m pretty sure there’s no emotional damage either since I don’t seem to be able to BLOCK blogs from happening or becoming prominently featured) so it’s ok for me to become mercenary with it.

So my friends, as I begin the journey along the road to blognetic mastery I offer you all this – my humble service. I can’t make any promises of course because I’m not sure exactly how this works just yet, but if you would like your blog to become more prominent here at WordPress, let me know. I’ll do my best to focus my power and see if I can get you Freshly Pressed!

SHAZAM!

8 responses to “With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility

  1. Pingback: Chinese Food May Well Be The Death Of Me «

  2. Pingback: Physical and Metaphysical Adventures – Part B (Metaphysical Adventures) « Adventures and Insights

  3. Pingback: Are you Blogvoyant? - ViralStash.com The Daily Buzz

  4. Pingback: Are you Blogvoyant? « The Edmonton Tourist

  5. ragrobyn November 12, 2010 at 3:30 am

    OMG it’s true! You DO have the power!!!

    • OpentoAdventure November 12, 2010 at 8:28 am

      That’s REALLY eerie – and exciting! While I was writing my post, I was thinking about the bloggers I follow and that it was about time YOU got Freshly Pressed. Imagine my amazement this morning when I saw that it has happened!!!

      Congratulations to you! 😀

      Now, who’s next?

Leave a Reply

