Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

Multi-dimensional Wonders of the World (of Warcraft)

Brackarn Santhor - Humble, stalwart warrior and dancer extraordinaire

It used to be that when you went marauding heedlessly into a dungeon or chasing the enemy hordes across the battlefield, you knew exactly who you were dealing with. You were usually sitting around a table with your friends and a character sheet in front of you which listed all your strengths and weaknesses, along with the entire contents of your backpack.

Your landscape was painted by your imagination and with your band of fellow adventurers the imaginary world was your oyster. Sometimes that oyster contained wonderful, wealth-bringing pearls and other times it tried to bite your head off with its razor-sharp teeth. Such was the way of life for every role-playing enthusiast. Que sera, sera.

I have a confession to make – I enjoy role-playing games.

It started innocently enough; but anyone will tell you addiction always begins that way. I only wanted to make reading more interesting. Choose Your Own Adventure books helped do that. You could read the same book and change the ending almost every time just by turning left instead of right. I was in control. Total control. At least that’s what I thought.

As the years passed I found myself needing something more. The buzz of being able to dominate a storyline was outgrowing the offerings of such simple books. I yearned for a setting in which I could develop instead of stagnating in the simplistic storylines that always ultimately ended with nothing. Sure, I’d just saved the planet/rescued the girl/recovered the lost artifact but where could I go from there? Nowhere. I needed to become more than the inconsistency of constant character change with each new book.

Enter Dungeons and Dragons. It had everything I was looking for and so much more. Opportunity for advancement, action and adventure at every turn. The role-playing genre wasn’t one-dimensional either. There were entire universes out there to explore and imagine. If medieval fantasy wasn’t your thing, you could always become a mutant kangaroo in the world of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles or show off your super hero powers in the world of Marvel. The options were endless!

Life in the fantasy worlds wasn’t always peachy though. Pen and paper RPGs (Role-Playing Games) had – and still do have a stigma attached to them. We’re nerds or geeks, and not necessarily esteemed in that stereotype. Jocks hated us, cheerleaders never dated us, but we understood our place and where we initially fell short in the real World, we made up for with our alter-egos.

These days it’s hard to find a group of role-players who still gather around a table to roll the dice and envision themselves in a fantasy world. Along with its many other offerings to the modern World, technology has brought a whole new dimension to the lives of role-players and gamers everywhere. It can pretty much be put down to three simple words – World of Warcraft.

I stayed away from it for a long time, knowing the effect it would have on me. I had no idea the effect it would have on the entire gaming community and indeed the rest of the World. People began playing to spend more time with their partners, relationships were formed and destroyed by the game and I understand that some people actually called the real-world cops on a kid who stole some of their virtual property.

I am glad that I played in the end. I was fond of my avatar (pictured at the top of this post) and I had some exceptionally good fun. I met many new people and made a number of new friends. I even developed a crush on one of the girls with whom I shared adventures in the World (of Warcraft). But time and people move on, ever evolving and my time in the fantasty world has drawn to a close.

I do still enjoy role-playing and gaming, but rarely play anymore. Real life, while not always as thrilling, is certainly more rewarding in the long run.

10 responses to “Multi-dimensional Wonders of the World (of Warcraft)

  1. Tasha October 21, 2010 at 11:49 am

    Nawwwwwww thanks for the memories Christian!! 🙂
    Kara will never be the same! LOL

    I miss you too! Now days we have to put all our crap on poor Wil hehehe but im sure he loves it 😉

    I love my addiction … but Im sure like smoking I will eventually tire of it and give it away one day … hmmm maybe when I get a kidlet!! hehe!!

    • OpentoAdventure October 21, 2010 at 12:05 pm

      Hehehe, you know I miss you and all the other guys and girls! Luckily though I’ve got most of you on Facebook now so I can still keep in touch. 🙂

      And you know I have nothing against WoW or any other MMO. It’s definitely one of the cheapest and safest addictions anyone could have. No matter what non-gamers think, it’s also a decent way to meet new people, kind of like online dating but a little more interesting!

      Give my best to everyone please, tell them I still think of them often and hope they’re all well.

      🙂

      • Tasha October 21, 2010 at 2:22 pm

        I know, its nice having other ways to annoy you 😉 hehe!

        Will pass on your message, but Im pretty sure they all know you wouldn’t have forgotten them :D.

        Oh while I think of it … you know your more than welcome to say hi via vent sometime! Just ask Megan or Wil for the details.

  2. Astrosodi October 20, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    He’s greyer than I thought he’d be… 😉

  3. ragrobyn October 20, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    “Real life, while not always as thrilling, is certainly more rewarding in the long run.”

    I too sported a gamer role play addiction. Hard habit to break. However, your final quote speaks volumes.

  4. Megan October 20, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    Aww it’s nice to see Brack again even if it’s only a picture.
    I will admit I’ve never played table top games before which is a loss for me, but any kind of role play has always interested me.

    But I do agree that there is a point where you have to stop and enjoy life’s rpg

    • OpentoAdventure October 20, 2010 at 3:16 pm

      Yeah, I do get nostalgic when I look at some of the old screenshots I’ve taken.

      I’m sure that there’s a reasonable compromise that can be reached; unfortunately my personality has a tendency for extremism – particularly when it comes to MMOs!

      I miss you all though, and I hope you’re all doing great!

Leave a Reply

