Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

Chivalry – The New Black

Call me old-fashioned. Go on, it’s true. I’m old-fashioned. Chivalry never died and I’m one of a number of men who are working ardently to restore it to its rightful place in society.


Raise the topic of chivalry in a conversation and there will generally be divided opinion about its place in “the modern day”. Some women (and men for that matter) are disgusted by it, believing it to be something that belittles either or both sexes in this age where equality apparently reigns supreme. I’m not going to get into the technicalities given that what is commonly referred to as chivalry is only one aspect of the ideology. That kinda defeats my purpose here…

Chivalry. It’s not about sexism or superiority. It’s not about getting laid. It’s about treating people with respect, decency and the simple truth that it’s nice to be nice to people. Don’t get me wrong; I’m no saint. But this isn’t about me. It’s about the fact that treating a lady with care and showing concern for her comfort and well-being is NOT different to treating her as an equal.

It’s good to see that I’m not the only person who believes that chivalry is the new black. On what was otherwise a very bland day in the life of the man who is OpentoAdventure, I happened upon no less than four separate instances of chivalrous behaviour. Sure, four isn’t many in a world where many numbers begin in the hundred-thousand range, but by comparison it’s extremely significant. And these weren’t all romantically chivalrous either.

This increase in chivalrous acts has inspired me to seek further participation. I put it to all men out there who are not already practicing chivalrists – get on the bandwagon! Join with us in our endeavours to restore gentlemanliness to order! We’re not trying to destroy feminism or mutual respect. You don’t have to slay dragons or endure rigorous tests of mental and physical fortitude. Sometimes it’s the smallest acts that make the biggest impression and difference. It’s about promotion of honour and treating others the same way that we ourselves would like to be treated.

8 responses to “Chivalry – The New Black

  1. Fred October 9, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    C for Chivalry. C for Charming. C for Consistency
    B for Best. B for Becoming. B for Being.
    A for Absolutely. A for Admirable. A for Always.
    – I can spell too, but can I make sentences? I leave that for the WordMaster 🙂

  2. blisstrack October 8, 2010 at 8:55 am

    By the way, I discovered today what the word chivalry means in english, so you teached me a new word, 🙂 thank you!

  3. blisstrack October 8, 2010 at 8:52 am

    I absolutely agree with you, now a days it’s too hard to find chivalry. But I think it’s one of the best characteristics a man could have 🙂

  4. marinasleeps October 8, 2010 at 6:31 am

    Man I DID thought it was about getting laid.
    Thanks for educating me.
    LOL

    good post by the way

    marinasleeps.wordpress.com

    • OpentoAdventure October 8, 2010 at 8:39 am

      Haha, my pleasure. There is a percentage of the male population that practices “shag-chivalry”, using what appear to be chivalrous acts as a means to get laid.

      It’s these guys that make it a little harder on those of us who have no expectation of sex attached to our actions.

      It’s always good to see you Marina, thanks again for stopping by!

      • ragrobyn October 10, 2010 at 3:26 pm

        Haha now the question remains: how do you tell the difference between shagchivalry and plain old chivalry? I can count on one hand the men I know who posses the real kind. I’m happy to know that you count yourself amongst them!

        • OpentoAdventure October 10, 2010 at 6:40 pm

          Yeah, the hardest part is telling the difference between the two types, it can be extremely difficult!

          I was just raised this way, good manners – like smiles are said to generally be contagious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

