Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

Don’t Mess With The Family

The Family - WordPress, Twitter and Facebook

Like all fledgling bloggers (and possibly many established ones), I have an unhealthy obsession with my stats. I used to get depressed when I saw zero visits on any given day and now I find my shoulders slumping when I get less than 15. Blogging is totally like crack to me and unfortunately, my supplier has let me down this weekend.

According to my stats and my own knowledge and gratitude that my friends and family read my blog; the majority of my visitors arrive via Facebook. Some arrive through Twitter and of course there’s WordPress helping out with a few drop-ins here and there thanks to semi-effective post tagging. I’m always excited to see familiar and new faces, I love the communication that commenting offers and of course I hope to one day achieve the dream of being Freshly Pressed.

So this group of players forms my “Triumvirate” if you will – The WordPress Boss with his Facebook and Twitter Capos supplying me with readers I know and love (along with new visitors who are of assuredly the highest quality) and the untainted ecstacy that accompanies their views and interaction with my blog.

This weekend however, some dirty street thugs have thought to make their mark on my idyllic neighbourhood. These rough, unscrupulous characters have managed to push their inferior product into my market and their actions have set the cat amongst the pigeons. You would think I should be happy, right? Any publicity is good publicity so they say. Well this blogger is not happy, Jan. What they are doing is making a mockery of my very existence and I will not take that lying down!

Avid readers of my blog will know that I am not here to write about super serious subjects. It will happen on occasion, but primarily I am here with the desire to entertain and maybe lend a different perspective to some of the many things that we think about. New readers won’t know this of course, but that’s why I’m here. In saying this though, these new kids on the block give me the impression that the internet believes I’m here for a different purpose.

They would have you believe that I am here to sell you car insurance, give you credit cards, loans and mortgages and to help you kick your drug habit. I am here to do none of those things – although I’m fully behind you if you want to give up drugs.

These goons had better learn very soon that they are not welcome here, no matter how many views they manage to drag kicking and screaming to my blog. I’d rather go back to the streets than live in luxury on the back of their dirty dealings. The Family will triumph, and these two-bit hoods will show their miserable faces on my stats page no more!

6 responses to “Don’t Mess With The Family

  1. Fred September 27, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    Here is my 20 cents worth then, opps, correction here is addition to the stat count. I will read your blog whenever I log on, which at the moment is quite often. Should there be a power failure, then my laptop still has a backup power source. Never fret, opps , that should be always fred 🙂 LOL and am sure your fan club will agree, I won’t be alone here.

  2. thegabbingmind September 27, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    Never fear – I shall remain a daily visitor no matter the subject of your posts! At least feel proud for having interesting things to share and the words to share them. My ability to coherently form posts remains poor – darn health leaves me ashamedly feeble – but I try to still have presence via comments and hope one day I can contribute as enjoyable pieces as I find yours! As for an obsession with stats – I think it is probably a widespread infection amongst bloggers. I have a grand total of 19 hits in a day! How sad lol – but I am kind of proud of my immense insignificance. Apologies for my rambling – it is a price one must endure for my readership… Hope you are well 🙂

    • OpentoAdventure September 27, 2010 at 5:37 pm

      I am always well when fellow bloggers take the time to read and comment! Thank you for your kind words, I will make sure that I visit you as often as I can.

      I know it’s hard, but don’t worry about low stats – it’s all just a matter of time. Your significance is far greater than you might imagine!

      Take care, I hope that your health improves soon!

  3. ragrobyn September 27, 2010 at 9:15 am

    I laughed out loud because we need to go to group for our unhealthy obsession with stats. I have the stat app for my iPod so I can peek while I am at work. I also dislike the hvox sites creeping into my site. I will let you in on a little secret though, “stumble” is an excellent link share your blog with. The upside is you have Sil Dante protecting your site. I miss him. Watching him has Stevie on Springsteen Videos is not the same.
    Fun post!

    • OpentoAdventure September 27, 2010 at 9:30 am

      Oooh, thanks for the tip about Stumble, I’ll have to look into that!

      I should definitely seek some kind of group counselling about my obsession with stats, I’m heartened to kow that I’m not the only one who feels this way. And it is definitely good to have Sil on my side.

Leave a Reply

