Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

The Nature of the Beast.

Disclaimer:
This post is of a reasonably serious nature. I have no intention of making this a regular thing, but it will happen from time to time. Apologies in advance for any disappointment.

Thank You. Yes, You.

Browsing through some of the hundreds of thousands of blogs here at WordPress I’ve come across many interesting topics and talented writers.  The human perspective is an extremely intriguing creature to me and I thoroughly enjoy reading about other people’s thoughts and opinions.  As I read these blogs, I reflect on my own writing and I often wonder what I can do better.

Now I know I’m me and they’re them. We won’t write the same and I’m not aiming for that. I know that there are writers out there whose talent easily surpasses mine and I will always be glad to be able to read their work. I’m also aware of the fact that I can write reasonably and I do enjoy it. So much so that I’ve decided to take it a little more seriously – the behind-the-scenes aspect of blogging that is, not the blogs themselves! Since deciding to become a more committed blogger, I’ve discovered that there’s more work to it than I originally thought! That’s fine by me though, I’ve always been a fan of challenge and I’m looking forward to honing and practising my writing skills. I know they need some work.

I openly and whole-heartedly encourage commenting, feedback and communication. I’d like to make a few new friends here at WordPress as I continue to blog and it’s always good to receive feedback as a writer. Of course I’m not looking at blogging as a career, but it’s a part of my life that I would like to explore and if the opportunity arises I’d be very keen to move into some form of professional writing.

As with everything, there are good days and bad days. Over the past two days alone I’ve written and scrapped blogs in rapid succession because they didn’t feel right. There are a couple I’ve posted that haven’t been great and that’s ok with me. It’s part of the process after all. Just as in life, we all have to experience some hardship because that’s really the only way to also measure our success. Writing positive and funny blogs can be extremely challenging when you’re not feeling positive or funny.

And that’s ok. Some people plan for that; I’ve been reading recently about planning ahead and I’ve started trying to have a week’s worth of ideas available in addition to having a prepared blog at least a day in advance in case of emergency. This is behind-the-scenes stuff though; to give my readers the illusion that I’m constantly in a great mood and I always have something interesting or humourous to say.

Back to the point. I just want to say thank you to everyone who’s taken the time to read my posts. I hope that I have provided some entertainment, my goal here is to write interesting and funny posts that are infused with my own slightly off-centre perspective. I’m still finding my feet but bear with me and I think you’ll find the odd gem amongst the gems of oddity here. Having a look at my stats I’ve noticed that stories of my youth and pet peeves currently appear to be the most popular with my readers, so expect a few more posts along those lines in addition to the randomness that is my view of the World. I don’t expect to ever dominate the blogoshpere or have a billion followers, but I won’t deny that seeing high stats always makes me feel good.

Thank you also for your comments. I always enjoy reading responses and I take great encouragement from knowing that sometimes I can give you a bit of a laugh – even if it’s that “Oh my goodness, he’s so weird” laugh.

Thank you to my fellow bloggers as well. You have no idea how grateful I am to be able to read your posts. Please keep writing, you are a constant source of inspiration, information and entertainment!

2 responses to “The Nature of the Beast.

  1. Fred September 18, 2010 at 1:16 am

    Haha – tales of your youth are great and I am sure you will also add some tales of your non-so-youthful days, perhaps when you feel the weight of the world on your weary back, burdened with beer, I mean blame. However one of the best things is that your wit whereby nothing ever gets you down for long. So, THANK YOU for showing us humour when we need it ourselves but have none.

    • OpentoAdventure September 18, 2010 at 10:40 am

      Thank you Fred, there will be plenty more adventure tales coming, don’t worry about that!

      Luckily there are a few stories in the mental archives that I’m more than happy to share, but the weight of the World is something I’ll be keeping tightly under wraps 😉

      What makes me happiest is knowing that people are enjoying reading; that will keep me writing for years!

      🙂

Leave a Reply

