Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

We Meet Again…

Moving into a new place has given me the incentive to make some big changes in my life. I’m really embracing the adventure of life (because that’s what I’m all about) and have started giving attention back to areas of my life that I’d previously been neglecting. Most importantly, I’ve started going back to the gym on a very regular basis. It’s a great feeling to exercise, and I’m really enjoying the  all-round benefits. And no, the telemarketer wasn’t right! I AM going to work out!

There is a terrible fact I must reveal here today however. It’s wonderful and terrifying all at the same time.

I have a nemesis.

That’s right. My arch-enemy has been lurking in the shadows for years, waiting patiently for opportunities to strike. Tonight was his second attempt on my life.

I’m confused about how it all began. We formed a friendship back in high school and we got on really well. He was always very quiet but that was ok, we didn’t have a lot to talk about. We’d just go running together. We ran for hours, leaving everyone and everything behind as we raced through our own little World. Working hard at bettering ourselves.We were tight and for the longest time I thought we’d be friends forever. Even after a few years without catching up, we picked up our old pace again together like no time had passed. I don’t know what happened to change it. I don’t know when, how or why we fell apart but I always maintained my respect and friendship for him. He’d done so much for me, I thought nothing would come between us. But something did. And I don’t know if we’ll ever get back to where we once were.

It wasn’t a slow break either. It was sudden and shocking. The first incident happened a couple of years ago, when I asked him to go for a run with me after not having seen him for a while. He was very gracious and accepted the invitation, but I was blissfully unaware of his cruel intentions. We got into our groove and things were going swimmingly. And then he struck. Drawing my attention to my personal trainer who approached me and said hello, he tripped me. I fumbled and stumbled, my trainer watching me as my legs began a mad maneuver to recover my balance and stride. I could see myself collapsing, I could imagine the raucous laughter that would follow my fall from grace.  Luckily I managed to regain my footing with minimum awkward embarassment and I continued on my way. Needless to say, I didn’t speak to my friend for a while afterwards.

Tonight I met him again and we were going to see if we could pick up where we last left off. Sadly, it wasn’t to be. Again it was all smiles and cheeriness on the outside – a thin shell covering an interior filled with venom and hatred. This time he couldn’t start on me soon enough and we’d barely picked up the pace before he’d launched me into chaos, taking advantage of the fact that I was adjusting my headphones and getting my music started. He immediately picked the pace up to running speed and before I knew what was going on I was fighting not to keep pace, but to stay upright! People turned to look, obviously waiting for me to crash down and provide them with a laugh. No dice, fellow joggers. After about ten seconds of wild flailing and semi-somersaulting I finally regained my footing and just to prove a point I kept running for fifteen minutes.

I’m not going to give up on that treadmill. He won’t beat me.

You may have won this round treadmill, but you will not defeat me.

5 responses to “We Meet Again…

  1. Pingback: A Song For Every Time We’ve Lost « Adventures and Insights

  2. ragrobyn September 15, 2010 at 11:03 pm

    Hahaha, awesome! I read Backofthepacker and his arch nemesis is called the “tool”. You both make me laugh!

Leave a Reply

