Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

Name Twins – When Third Person Becomes Two People

 

My name is Christian - and so is his!

There don’t seem to be many Christians around these days. Maybe it’s just me, maybe I’m not really paying attention but I’ve always found it fun to meet one. Depending on the Christian’s personality, it can be even more fun to work with one. To me, working with a fellow Christian is always hilariously rewarding.

Of course, if you’ve skimmed over the blog title or didn’t know my first name before starting to read the post, that first paragraph might be a little confusing to you. It’s ok. My name is Christian and this post is about name twins. Some people find name twins to be difficult to manage and possibly even annoying. If your name happens to be something exceptionally common then you probably roll your eyes when you’re introduced to yet another “Michael” or “Emma”. (Apologies to all the Michaels and Emmas out there; I totally respect your name and you are probably awesome people as well! I just had to illustrate my point, I know you understand.)

I, on the other hand, seem to have a less common name (although to be fair – according to The New Parents Guide, Christian has been floating around #20 on the popularity list over the past 5 years) and as a result it’s always exciting for me to meet another “Christian”. Some would argue that anyone named “Chris” is also my name twin. I say no. My Mum’s name is Chris, my name is Christian. There are only two people in my life that call me Chris and get away with it and that’s because they’re very good friends of mine.

When you meet a name twin, it’s like being introduced to a long lost friend. You instantly have way much more in common than you would ever think and you just get on much better immediately. It’s because you already know them – they’re you. Because you know yourself, that automatically means you know them. At least, that’s how I react whenever I’m introduced to another Christian. And then, every time you see them, you address them by their name. Because it’s your name and sometimes it’s nice to hear your own name coming out of your own mouth – and know that you’re not slipping into third person dialogue.

Depending on their character of course, working with your name twin can be hilariously fun. If your name twins are anything like mine, they love playing the game as much as you do. I’ve worked with a few in my time and it’s always been entertaining. At least for us. In the right environment, games like “Pass the Buck” and “You’ve got the Wrong Guy” can provide hours of valuable laughs, especially if the target only has the first name to work with.

Sometimes, even the simple act of conversing with your name twin can have very entertaining results. If you both sound fairly similar to each other, sometimes, just sometimes, people will think you’re speaking in third person to yourself. Those of you who have met one of your name twins, you know what I mean. For those of you who haven’t, I strongly urge you to make the effort to find one of your name twins and have some fun. You won’t regret it.

7 responses to “Name Twins – When Third Person Becomes Two People

  1. ragrobyn September 11, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    I only ever met one, and I hated her. Not as exciting for me as you. But I am happy for you and am glad you have met your name twin.

    • OpentoAdventure September 11, 2010 at 9:11 pm

      I’m sorry to hear that your only name twin experience went badly. I hope you find another twin one day and that you can experience some of the fun that can be had. I think we all deserve that🙂

  2. Fred September 11, 2010 at 2:35 am

    When one friend married his girlfriend, their first names were put up on the wall in big letters for all to see at the wedding reception. I felt strange reading it because his wife and I share the same name.

  3. Meg September 10, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    in my first job I worked in an office with two sally’s and was forever being called sally.

    Then another office had two Megan’s (myself and another girl) andw hen I left my job was filled by a girl called.. wait for it Meg (short for Meagan)

Leave a Reply

