Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

On The Twelfth Day Of Christmas

Forrest Gump’s mother obviously wasn’t paying attention when comparing life to a box of chocolates. Either that or she never gave or received a box of Roses chocolates. They come with a menu, which means that you can choose the bits you like and avoid the ones you don’t. Or you can share them with someone else – who may like the ones you don’t, which is even better.

Don't like peppermint? Give me the ones with the green wrapper. Easy.

I was going to write this last post about a box of chocolates (because this one has 12 different flavours) and I was going to talk about how it’s a family tradition for the three of us (my brother, sister and myself) to receive these on Christmas Day. I was going to write about how it reminds me of my youth and that apart from being delicious and chocolatey, this box of treats was another thing that helped me remember to stay young at heart and to be kind to others without concern for their background, circumstances, opinions or beliefs in the way that I had when I was so very young.

Over the course of compiling this series of posts though, I’ve come to realise that (perhaps with a little Divine Intervention) this post is more significant than that. So I’m going to take it down a different track, but one which still remains entirely relevant. Some people say I think too much and maybe they’re right. If you can follow the connection here, it means that we think along similar lines. I’m not sure whether I should be relieved – or that you should be worried. ;)

Life is like a box of chocolates, really. Whether we approach it with some kind of menu in hand or just dive in and see what we get, it is filled with variety. We try flavours and find ones we dislike; we taste morsels and find ones we want to eat forever. We can choose to share or we can keep them all to ourselves. There are many ways to get through them and with certainty there will come a time when the box is empty.

I’m far from what you would call a “good Christian”. I don’t go to Church, I only pray once a week and I have given in to numerous temptations throughout my life. I don’t know nearly enough about religion and I often think I’m doing it wrong. I’ve seen and experienced things in my lifetime which have made me doubt the presence of any kind of Higher Power but at the same time I’ve also witnessed irrefutable proof that there has to be something bigger than us at work.

I’m not going to get religious on you all. I feel uncomfortable talking about religion because to me it’s a personal thing and I respect the fact that many of my friends have differing opinions on the matter. What I do want to say, however, ties into a greater notion that I try to adhere to as I pass my time, (hopefully) learn from my mistakes and revel in my triumphs.

With no attachment to anything other than a simple bond of human kindness and treating others as I would have them treat me I just want to say: Be safe, have a wonderful December and, without need of a special occasion, may you have every possible opportunity to spend time with the people you care about. I truly hope that your lives are filled with love, happiness and laughter. At this time, and for the remainder of your years I hope that you all experience the best that life has to offer and that throughout any challenges you may face, may you have the support of loved ones all along the way.

I love you guys and am so very grateful to have been able to share my Twelve Days of Christmas with you. You are the delicious treats that keep me dipping into my metaphorical box of chocolates.

On the twelfth day of Christmas, the Season gave to me…

Twelve treats for sharing
Eleven Christmas movies
Ten months distracted
Nine gifts for wrapping
Eight PM Carols
Seven tonnes of tucker
Six AM wake-up
Five days off
Four airborne hours
Three fresh breaths
Two swimming pools
and a trifle made for the Family

7 responses to “On The Twelfth Day Of Christmas

  1. Pingback: the Infinite Monkey speaks: something bigger | steadily skipping stones

  2. skippingstones January 1, 2012 at 11:46 am

    Thank you for sharing, Christian; it was a wonderful series that I truly enjoyed. I hope the new year brings you everything that you hope for and a few things you didn’t even know you wanted.

  3. Freda December 24, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    Merry Christmas and thanks for 12 days of it. :-) Cheers .

  4. Renée A. Schuls-Jacobson December 24, 2011 at 9:54 am

    Christian, I have only gratitude for everything you say and share here. I do my best to be a good person. I am a spiritual person, but I don’t pretend to have all the answers. It must be wonderful for those who can point to a book and say: See? It’s in here, so it must be true! That’s just not the way I roll. But as you said — and I hope, as you know by now — I always do believe we are strangely and wonderfully connected.

    I am so glad I met you, that the interwebz brought me to you. I plan to write that post for you. And I will. If you’ll still have me as a guest.

    Merry Christmas, Christian.

    • Christian Emmett December 24, 2011 at 11:46 pm

      Renee, you’re not a good person – you are a MAGNIFICENT person. Of course I’ll still have you as a guest; I would be honoured an you are always welcome with me!

      I think that you and I walk a similar road in our spirituality and I am glad to know that.

      Happy Hanukkah, Renee. Wishing you all the very best! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 373 other followers

