Adventures & Insights

One man's adventures in the physical and intellectual worlds…

The Cupid Files: Technically, It’s Love

Cupid; one cherubic little angel set with a task that at the time seemed impossibly easy. When there are only two people in the World, how hard can it be to stick them both with a little love and watch the beautiful results? Kudos Cupid, job well done.

Fast forward to the 21st century and it is this single guy’s personal opinion that poor Cupid is suffering from chaos induced delirium. Even though his quiver is bottomless, his drawing arm has become undeniably fatigued by his eternal assignment. He’s drowning in a backlog of work and there’s no sign of him getting a break.

With recessions, headphones and all sorts of other antagonists throwing their weight around, the 21st Century has responded to Cupid’s cries for help. The digital age has stepped up to lend the paladin of passion a much needed hand.

Online Dating.

It is yet to be seen whether this mechanical mercenary is friend or foe. Some believe it’s an abomination, to be shunned and stuck with pitchforks, hunted by torchlight and sent packing into the darkness from whence it came. Others praise its efforts to create love; to bring joy to the lives of the people Cupid hasn’t gotten to yet and who also have their own reasons for preferring the safety of e-communication before taking the leap into love.

It’s the minigun to Cupid’s sniper rifle; the chainsaw to his scalpel. While the game itself hasn’t changed and the desired end result is the same as it always has been, Cupid’s new ally in affection is taking a slightly different approach.

It has set up dedicated camps for those who are seeking romantic attachment. It has announced itself to the World, loudly and with much ado, muscling its way into society with open arms to anyone and everyone. No matter what you’re looking for in a relationship, you can find it thanks to the internet.

This boon to the lovelorn is certainly encouraging. It has its merits and of course there are the success stories that have made this method of finding love much more common. It offers the sanctuary of your own home from which to operate. Everything can be controlled and there’s no denying the security in that.

Getting to know someone via email is certainly easier and more comfortable than having to sit down with them and ask them questions to their face. You don’t HAVE to make the first move. You don’t HAVE to ask “those” icebreaker questions. You can read through profiles of people and take your time, knowing that they too are looking for romance. Just like you are. Usually, by the time you actually meet the other person, you’re already comfortable in your knowledge about them and if you decide that things aren’t going to work out, you can just disassociate yourself. Piece of cake!

Online Dating, I mean you absolutely no disrespect when I say this. I appreciate absolutely everything you’re doing in the field of romance and I thank you for stepping up to the plate on this one, but you and I – we have different views. I know that I could really lose out on this but I’ve thought very hard and I’m going to stick with the little guy on this one. I have every confidence that he’ll sort me out in the end.

You and I have had run-ins. You know what I’m talking about. I know you’re trying to help and you’re still young, so I’m going to let the past slide. You ARE helping millions of people find love and Cupid isn’t alone in giving you a great big highfive. This is something I prefer to do the old-fashioned way though. The nerves, bumbling and light-headedness is what it’s all about.

8 responses to “The Cupid Files: Technically, It’s Love

  1. bearyweather October 22, 2010 at 1:16 am

    I think you are underestimating cupids intellect and resourcefulness. I personally think that cupid is the inventor of online dating. You are right, he is overworked and what better way for him to get caught up matching all those hearts that are alone? With cupid’s internet, there is still hope for people like me who live in the middle of nowhere to find someone special.
    Have you tried it? It is not all that safe, there are still people who are in it just as a game, who lie and misrepresent themselves. But, like the real world, there are also people out there who are on a serious search for true love and connections with people. And, I can tell you from experience … it does not matter how well you think you know someone from emails and phone calls before you meet … there is still a lot of excitement, nerves, bumbling and light-headedness … maybe even more when you finally meet because you already like each other.

    • OpentoAdventure October 22, 2010 at 8:32 am

      You have some very good points there, Cupid probably did create online dating to give himself some breathing room. And I know for a fact that it has been responsbile for some wonderful relationships.

      I did try it for about a week but I went through a site where you have to pay to talk to other members. I found that a bit much but I can understand the reasoning.

      You are definitely right, having a deeper connection with a person before meeting them can really add to the whole experience.

  2. blisstrack October 20, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    I agree with you, old fashioned way gives a special “something” to meeting someone. It’s like if butterflies in your stomach and awkwardness is part of the magic.

    When I have a break, I’ll write. It has been kind of difficult this days. But I always take a time for reading you. :)

    • OpentoAdventure October 20, 2010 at 3:39 pm

      Definitely, I’m all for the magic. Dating via websites to me is just too “safe”.

      I hope your studies aren’t causing you too much stress, make sure you get enough rest ok?

      And thank you for continuing to read my posts; I’m definitely looking forward to catching up on your blog.

  3. Fred October 20, 2010 at 2:38 am

    Black Hat: If I saw a little kid with wings in a diaper, with a quiver and arrows, I would not stand still either. I would be worried…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

